Skip to Content
NASHVILLE.gov - Metro Government of Nashville & Davidson County, Tennessee NASHVILLE.gov - Metro Government of Nashville & Davidson County, Tennessee (Print logo)

Development Departments

The Development Services page provides developers and property owners with a central point of reference for development and permit processing issues. The Development Services departments are connected through a common database and computer software system for permit tracking and inspection tracking services. They have also been co-located together in the Metro Office Building – thus the ‘one-stop shop’ for permits.

The links below lead to the various Metro departments involved in development.

Codes

The Codes Department administers Nashville’s zoning code, building code and related codes, registers licensed contractors, and makes construction inspections to ensure compliance with applicable codes.

Contact: Wade Hill, wade.hill@nashville.gov or (615) 862-6520

Fire

The Fire Department participates in the development process by enforcing the Fire Code through construction regulation and building inspections, and by providing development standards.

Contact: Danny Hunt, danny.hunt@nashville.gov or (615) 862-5230

Water / Stormwater

The Water Services Department ensures a safe and adequate water supply, regulates grading and drainage, and administers Metro’s stormwater regulations.

Water contact: Mike Morris, mike.morris@nashville.gov or (615) 862-4570
Stormwater contact: Roger Lindsey, roger.lindsey@nashville.gov or (615) 862-4706

Planning

The Planning Department reviews proposed zone changes and subdivision applications and works with local communities to plan appropriate, sustainable development.

Contact: Brandon Burnette at the Planning Department service desk, (615) 862-7190 or planningstaff@nashville.gov

Public Works

The Public Works Department regulates and maintains much of the county’s infrastructure, including streets, traffic signals and signage, roadways, bridges, sidewalks, and parking. Public Works also operates Davidson County’s trash collection and curbside recycling program in the Urban Services District of Metro.

Contact: Scott McCormick, scott.mccormick@nashville.gov or (615) 862-8792

Health

The Metropolitan Health Department oversees septic and sewage disposal systems and construction of commercial kitchens and hotel/condo/apartment swimming pools. Builders and developers who plan to work in areas without Metro sewage service should contact our Environmental Engineering department before submitting construction plans.

Contact: Spencer Hissam, spencer.hissam@nashville.gov or (615) 340-0438

NES

Nashville Electric Service is the local electric-power utility for over 355,000 customers across Davidson County. NES's Builders' and Contractors' page provides specific information on applications, procedures, and design standards.

Contact: Energy Services Engineering, energyservices@nespower.com