Skip to Content

40th Annual Historic Preservation Awards Photo Gallery

1801 Fatherland Street
Historic Preservation Awards, May 19, 2015

39th Annual Historic Preservation Awards Photo Gallery

Olive & Sinclair Chocolate Co. - 1628 Fatherland Street
Historic Preservation Awards, May 28, 2014

38th Annual Historic Preservation Awards Photo Gallery

Ryman Lofts – 100 Middleton Street
Historic Preservation Awards, May 29, 2013

Preservation Awards

For forty years, the Metropolitan Historical Commission has recognized outstanding efforts to preserve Nashville’s historic architecture with its annual Preservation Awards program.

41st Annual Preservation Awards

Join the Metropolitan Historical Commission in celebrating National Preservation Month by honoring the 2016 winners of Nashville’s Preservation Awards. Awards will be presented to winners in the categories of Residential, Infill, Monuments and Memorials, and Commercial architecture. The 41st annual event will be held on Wednesday, May 4, 2016 at 4:30 p.m. at the Nashville Public Library, 615 Church Street. The Historical Commission and Historic Nashville, Inc. will co-host a reception immediately following the ceremony at The Frost Building, 161 Rosa L. Parks Boulevard. Constructed in 1913, the Frost Building is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. It is notable for its Neo-Classical Revival architecture as well as its prominence in the history of the Southern Baptist Convention.  The Historical Commission recognized the rehabilitation of the Frost Building with an Architectural Award in 1980.

Along with celebrating exceptional preservation projects, the Metropolitan Historical Commission will present three special awards during the ceremony.  The Commission will recognize the contributions of Dr. Carroll Van West with the Achievement Award and will present the Commissioners’ Award to the Friends of Two Rivers Mansion.  Additionally, the Commission will recognize excellence in historical research with its inaugural presentation of the Fletch Coke Award to Debie Cox, recently retired from the Metropolitan Government Archives.

The Preservation Awards program is held annually to celebrate National Preservation Month, which is observed nationally each year in May.  This year’s theme is “This Place Matters.”

Sponsored annually by the National Trust for Historic Preservation, the purpose of Preservation Month is to celebrate the country’s diverse and irreplaceable heritage.

For more information, please call the Metropolitan Historical Commission at (615) 862-7970 or email

History Of the Preservation Awards Program

The Metropolitan Historical Commission’s Preservation Awards program began in 1973 as an Architectural Awards program. Miss Margaret Lindsley Warden, a charter member and former chair of the MHC, had the idea to create an incentive for people to preserve historic buildings. metropolitan historical commission architectural award plaqueShe had observed how successful prizes were in horse shows and had heard of similar awards programs for preservation of buildings in other cities.

In 1973, the purpose was stated as:

1) To stimulate interest in owners of pertinent buildings to preserve and restore them with authenticity, and

2) To spread information, i.e., to educate the community, on the merits (architectural and historical) and contemporary uses of distinguished buildings of the past.

The awards were originally aimed at residences, but the categories have increased as the need arose. In 1973 the categories included dwellings, offices, and historic districts. In 1997 those properties were expanded to six categories: residences (both single and multi-family structures), commercial buildings, religious properties, educational and institutional buildings, engineering and industrial structures, and infill construction.

Since 1973, nearly 350 awards have gone to a broad range of historic structures – dwellings, churches, commercial and industrial buildings, schools, even to bridges and new developments. Nominated by the public, they are honored for their sensitivity to the original architecture and the surrounding environment, creativity in adaptation for contemporary use, architectural merit and/or historic interest, long-term maintenance, adherence to the Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for Rehabilitation, and pioneering spirit. The public awards ceremony coincides with National Preservation Month, which is celebrated every year in May.

Mayor Karl Dean and Ann RobertsToday, in addition to recognizing various preservation projects, the Commission recognizes individuals and groups with the Achievement and Commissioners’ Awards. The Achievement Award is given to an individual in recognition of his/her extraordinary leadership in preserving Nashville’s history -- either through research and writing history or through advocacy and raising public awareness of history and preservation. The Commissioners' Award recognizes a group, program, or project that enhances Nashville’s history and historic resources. It is designed to honor projects that do not fit within the traditional preservation award categories. Achievement and Commissioners’ Awards are selected by the Historical Commission.

In the early years, the Commission held a separate event to recognize various individuals, groups, and projects that were involved in the preservation of the built environment and the promotion of our local history. Eventually, the two awards programs were combined. In recent years, the name of the new program changed to “Preservation Awards” to acknowledge the diversity of individuals, groups, and types of projects receiving awards.

Participation In the Preservation Awards Program

Nominations for the 42nd Annual Preservation Awards program are due March 10, 2017. To be considered, nominated properties must be located in Davidson County and, with the exception of the infill construction category, must have been built no later than 1965. Buildings open to the public as historic sites are not eligible. Previous winners MAY be eligible if the work is significantly different.

For more information about the Preservation Awards program, please call the Metropolitan Historical Commission at (615) 862-7970 or email