Skip to Content

Mayor's New Americans Advisory Council

group photo of Mayor's New Americans Advisory Council

Comprised of leaders from Nashville's refugee and immigrant communities, the Mayor's New Americans Advisory Council (MNAAC) meets monthly in the Mayor's Office to discuss issues relevant to the New American population and to share ideas with government leaders. Its members have played a key role in developing a number of important Metro initiatives to empower New Americans. The council was created in 2009 to help foster a link between Nashville's New American communities and Metro Government.

Current MNAAC Board Members

Name Title Organization Email
Leah Hashinger, Co-chair Director of ESL to Go Tennessee Foreign Language Institute leah@tfli.org
Louisa Saratora, Co-chair Assistant State Refugee Coordinator Catholic Charities of Tennessee, Inc. lsaratora@cctenn.org
Delfine Fox CEO and Certified Diversity Professional DFOX LLC Business, Strategy, Management, TN Latin Chamber of Commerce delfine@dfoxllc.com
delfinefox@comcast.net
José González Co-Founder and Finance Director Conexion Americas Jose@conamericas.com
Nawzad Hawrami Office Manager Salahadeen Center nawzad88@yahoo.com
Meg Nugent Volunteer Not available megnugent7@gmail.com
Dr. Srivatsan Pallavaram Vice President India Association of Nashville sri.pallavaram@gmail.com
Stephanie Teatro Co-Executive Director Tennessee Immigrant & Refugee Rights Coalition stephanie@tnimmigrant.org
Elizabeth Nhkum Case Manager World Relief, Burmese (Kachin) Community Leader enhkum@wr.org
Dr. Gatluak Ter Thach President and CEO Nashville International Center for Empowerment gatluak@empowernashville.org
Leon Berrios Director of Immigration & Legal Affairs Hispanic Family Foundation Leon.berrios@hispanicfamilyfoundation.com
Kathleen Fuchs Manager Turner Family Center for Social Ventures, Vanderbilt University Owen Graduate School of Management kathleen.fuchs@owen.vanderbilt.edu
Ahmed Osman Co-founder & Operations Manager Blue Star Carrier—Transportation Business Alambo99@hotmail.com