Skip to Content

Officers Travis Baxter and Jerre Fly Honored with Awards from Odd Fellows Association


April 5, 2013


Dedicated police work by Officer Travis Baxter that led to the arrest of two men involved in a shooting and attempted robbery on 9th Avenue South has now earned Baxter the Judge John L. Draper Joint Nashville Police Odd Fellow Award for the first half of 2011.
Baxter received a $500 cash award during a ceremony this morning.
In the early morning hours of April 10, 2011, Officer Baxter was near 9th Avenue South and Division Street when he heard the sounds of gunshots nearby.  As he drove to investigate, a car fled away from the area at more than twice the speed limit.  Officer Baxter activated his emergency equipment in an effort to stop the car for the traffic violation.  The driver ultimately pulled over on Wedgewood Avenue.  Subsequent investigation revealed the two occupants were involved in the shooting and attempted robbery of a victim at 9th Avenue South and Gleaves Avenue.  The gun used was recovered in the path of the vehicle’s flight from the scene.  The passenger was later convicted of attempted murder, robbery and assault charges.  The driver was convicted of robbery counts and speeding.  Both received multi-year prison sentences.       
Other Odd Fellow Award nominees for the first half of 2011 were Officers Steven Bowers, Pedro Robles, Daniel Bowling, Jeff Moseley, Clifton Huffmaster, Sam Johnson and Burl Johnson.

Odd Fellow Award for Second Half of 2011

A traffic stop of a man for not wearing his seatbelt in South Nashville snowballed into a federal Hobbs Act robbery case and has now earned Officer Jerre Fly the Judge John L. Draper Joint Nashville Police Odd Fellow Award for the second half of 2011.
Fly also received a $500 cash award this morning.
On the night of August 10, 2011, Officer Fly stopped a car on Apache Trail at Haywood Lane after observing the seatbelt violation.  During a consent search, a semi-automatic pistol and a small bag of marijuana were recovered from the vehicle.  Officer Fly believed the driver to be a member of the Asian Pride Gang and called the police department’s Gang Unit to the scene.  The ensuing investigation led to the federal indictment of the driver and several other persons for violent home invasion robberies in Rutherford and Smith Counties.  The driver was also convicted of failing to wear a seatbelt as the result of Officer Fly’s stop.
Other Odd Fellow Award nominees for the second half of 2011 were Officers Rick Martin, John Gilpin, Jonathan Frith, Robert Simmons and Brett Kenney.
For 52 years, Nashville’s Odd Fellows Association has sponsored this award, which is given twice a year to an officer below the rank of lieutenant who makes an arrest of a person already wanted, or who makes a criminal case based on the original citing of a traffic law violator.


Pictured at today’s awards ceremony were Odd Fellows Association members Bob Pritchett, Hilary Lingner and Joe Anderson along with Officer Travis Baxter, Officer Jerre Fly and Chief Steve Anderson.