Skip to Content

Metro Public Health Department Anticipates Increase of 7th Grade Students Seeking Required Immunizations


NASHVILLE, Tenn., August 12, 2013 –Metro Public Health officials are anticipating an influx of 7th grade students seeking required school immunizations over the next few days.  Health officials are planning to increase the number of nurses to provide shots if needed at the Lentz Health Center.

Tennessee State law requires children entering school to provide documented proof of all age appropriate immunizations.  Students entering 7th grade must provide proof of an updated Tennessee Immunization Certificate showing that they have received both a Tetanus, Diphtheria and Pertussis booster (Tdap), as well as a Varicella booster, or proof of having had the Chicken Pox disease.  

Over the past month Health Department officials have recommended parents with rising 7th grader students take their children to their pediatrician for a well-child exam along with the required immunizations.  The Health Department added an incentive this year with free backpacks for 7th graders who have an updated immunization record.

Children’s immunizations are offered from 8 a.m. – 3:30 p.m. throughout the year on a walk-in basis at the East Health Center, 1015 East Trinity Lane; Woodbine Health Center, 224 Oriel Ave.; and Lentz Health Center, 311 23rd Ave. North.  

The Health Department offers immunizations to anyone seeking the shots but wants to reach those without insurance.  

Eligible children through 18 years of age may receive free, federally-funded vaccine through the Vaccines for Children Program (VFC).  
There is an administration fee charged for vaccines but will slide according to income.  Children through 18 years of age who meet at least one of the following criteria are eligible to receive VFC vaccine:
TennCare/Uninsured/American Indian or Alaska Native/Underinsured

Health officials suggest children with private insurance go to their primary care provider for their immunizations.  The Health Department can provide the vaccine for a fee for those if they have private insurance and cannot get in to see their primary care provider..

The complete list of Tennessee Child Care and School Immunization requirements is available on the Tennessee Department of Health’s website at: