Metro Public Health Department and Metro Schools make going back to school easy at an Enrollment Fair
July 16, 2014
School starts August 6, and now is the time to prepare! The Health Department and Metro Schools have teamed up for a one-stop back to school shop at an Enrollment Fair on Saturday, July 19. The Enrollment Fair is for students that live in Davidson County.
The Enrollment fair will take place from 9 a.m. – 3 p.m. at the Lentz Public Health Center, located at 311 23rd Ave. North.
At the fair, families can:
To sweeten the deal, there will even be iPod giveaways! It’s a chance to make going back to school as easy as possible, so don’t miss it.
Tennessee State law requires children entering school to provide documented proof of all age appropriate immunizations. Students entering 7th grade must provide proof of an updated Tennessee Immunization Certificate showing that they have received both a Tetanus, Diphtheria and Pertussis booster (Tdap), as well as a Varicella booster, or proof of having had the Chicken Pox disease.
Metro Public Health Department officials recommend parents with rising 7th grader students to make an appointment with their pediatrician now for a well-child exam along with the required immunizations.
Children’s immunizations are also offered from 8 a.m. – 3:30 p.m. throughout the year on a walk-in basis at the East Health Center, 1015 East Trinity Lane; Woodbine Health Center, 224 Oriel Ave.; and Lentz Health Center, 311 23rd Ave. North.
The Health Department offers immunizations to anyone seeking the shots but wants to reach those without insurance.
Eligible children through 18 years of age may receive free, federally-funded vaccine through the Vaccines for Children Program (VFC). There is a $20 administration fee charged for vaccines but will slide according to income. Children through 18 years of age who meet at least one of the following criteria are eligible to receive VFC vaccine:
TennCare/Uninsured/American Indian or Alaska Native/Underinsured
Health officials suggest children with private insurance go to their primary care provider for their immunizations. The Health Department can provide the vaccine for a fee for those that have private insurance and cannot get in to see their primary care provider.
The complete list of Tennessee Child Care and School Immunization requirements is available on the Tennessee Department of Health’s website at: http://health.state.tn.us/TWIS/requirements.htm.