Skip to Content - Metro Government of Nashville & Davidson County, Tennessee - Metro Government of Nashville & Davidson County, Tennessee (Print logo)
Parks and Recreation

The Greenways Commission

The Greenways Commission of Metro Parks is charged with the planning and development of greenways throughout Nashville.

The sixteen member Commission was established in 1992 to be advisory to the Metropolitan Board of Parks and Recreation.

It is comprised of seven Mayor-appointed citizens, four Metro Council members, and representatives of the Park Board,Planning Commission, Metropolitan Development & Housing Agency, and Public Works Department.

The Commission is served by three Metro Parks staff members.

2015 Greenways Commission Meeting Schedule

At Metro Parks, 511 Oman Street, except for field trips (locations TBA)

  • February 18, 11:30
  • April 8, 4:00 field trip
  • June 10, 11:30
  • August 12, 11:30
  • October 14, 4:00 field trip
  • December 9, 11:30

Commission Members

  • Ann Tidwell, Chair
  • Michael Briggs, Metro Planning representative
  • Karen Bennett
  • Laurel Creech, Mayor's Office representative
  • Mark Deutschmann
  • Stan Fossick, Park Board representative
  • Karen Johnson
  • Tommy Lynch, Metro Parks Director (ex-officio)
  • Ann Middlebrooks
  • Donna Nicely
  • John L. Norris
  • Jenna Smith, Public Works representative
  • Ronnie Steine
  • Charlie Tygard
  • Tanaka Vercher
  • Sherry Weiner


Shain Dennison, Assistant Director, Metro Parks, Greenways and Open Space Division

Mark Bradfield, Greenway Trails Project Manager,

Cindy Harrison, Project Manager,


(615) 862-8400