Skip to Content
Parks and Recreation

Plan To Play Steering Committee

The Plan To Play steering committee is a group appointed by Mayor Megan Barry to help guide Metro Parks’ comprehensive yearlong master planning process. The steering committee – representative of key areas of interest, populations and areas of expertise – will help guide the planning process with a broad focus. With youth, seniors, public health professionals, environmentalists, artists, urban planners, athletes and others, the steering committee will ensure the city’s park system is relevant to all Nashvillians.

  1. Dr. Shari Barkin – Director, Division of General Pediatrics at the Monroe Carell Jr. Children’s Hospital, GROW Program Partner
  2. Austin Bauman – Nashville Area Chamber of Commerce, Founder and CEO of Green Fleet Messengers
  3. Sybril Bennett Brown, Ph.D. – Professor of Journalism, Belmont University
  4. Maryanna Clarke – Tennessee Women’s Theatre Project
  5. Gary Gaston – Executive Director, Nashville Civic Design Center
  6. Angie Henderson – Metro Councilmember, District 34; Parks Libraries and Recreation Committee
  7. Mary Beth Ikard – Transportation and Sustainability Manager, Office of Mayor Megan Barry
  8. Bonna Johnson –Vice President of Corporate Communications, Nashville Convention and Visitors Corp
  9. Ron Johnson – Oasis Center, Community Athletics
  10. Nora Kern – Executive Director, Walk Bike Nashville
  11. Loraine Swanson Lucinski – Deputy Director of Child Health Division of Family Health and Wellness, Tennessee Department of Health
  12. Liz McLaurin – Land Trust for Tennessee
  13. John Norris – Metro Parks Greenways Commission
  14. Sophia Pallwein – Mayor’s Youth Council
  15. Dr. Bill Paul – Director, Metro Public Health
  16. Sydney Pritchard – President, NAACP Youth–Nashville
  17. Anne Roos – Community Activist
  18. Conor Rork – Metro Transit Authority Youth Advisory Board
  19. Jamaal B. Sheats – Faculty, Art Department, Fisk University
  20. Christy Smith – Chairwoman, Metropolitan Board of Parks and Recreation
  21. Kelly Stewart – Nashville Hiking Meetup
  22. Mark Sturtevant – Director of Infrastructure, Office of Mayor Megan Barry
  23. Brian Tibbs – Metropolitan Planning Commission, Historic Nashville
  24. Tera Vasquez – CEO/Co-Founder of Guy Brown and Board Member, Tennessee Minority Supplier Development Council
  25. Don Welch – Nature Conservancy, Tennessee Chapter
  26. Mike Williams – Metro Parks Community Center Parent
  27. Mayra Yu – Director at Casa de la Cultura Latino Americana