
Tennessee, long labeled a “traditional 
tobacco state” with roots heavily tied to  
the tobacco industry, moves to the forefront 
of national regulation with the signing of 
the Non-Smoking Protection Act, Public 
Chapter 410. Smoking in public places 
(notably municipal workplaces) is now 
recognized by the Tennessee Legislature as  
a public health issue and is, therefore, 
banned. If any municipalities in Tennessee 
still allow smoking in any of their enclosed 
public buildings, such practices are now up  
in smoke.

The Non-Smoker Protection Act has an 
effective date of June 11, 2007, for the 
promulgation of rules and regulations. 
Municipalities, however, must comply with 
the ban no later than October 1, 2007. The 
new law requires most every public and 
private employer in Tennessee to comply. 
It is estimated that about a quarter of all 
Tennesseans smoke.

Public Chapter 410 adds a new Part 18 
to T.C.A. Title 39, Chapter 17, banning 
smoking in most enclosed public places in 
Tennessee, including places of employment. 
Section 1 of the new law defines “place of 
employment” as:

An enclosed area under the control 
of a public or private employer that 
employees normally frequent during the 
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course of employment, including, but 
not limited to, work areas, private offices, 
employee lounges, restrooms, conference 
rooms, meeting rooms, classrooms, 
employee cafeterias, hallways, and 
vehicles. A private residence is not a 
“place of employment” unless it is used 
as a child care, adult day care, or health 
care facility; 

The new law does contain numerous 
exceptions, although none are applicable 
to municipally owned facilities. These 
exceptions include:
  1.	 Private residences, except when used 

as a licensed child care, adult day care, 
or health care facility, taxi or other 
commercial vehicle for hire; 

  2.	 Hotel and motel rooms that are 
designated as smoking rooms;

  3.	 Retail tobacco stores that prohibit 
minors on their premises;

  4.	 Non-enclosed areas of public spaces, so 
long as tobacco smoke is not reasonably 
expected to enter areas where smoking  
is prohibited;

  5.	 Enclosed smoking areas of a building or 
facility that are physically separated and 
independently ventilated from areas of 
the building or facility where smoking  
is prohibited; 

  6.	 Venues that restrict access to persons 
who are 21 years of age or older;
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  7.	 Cigar bars;
  8.	 Private clubs;
  9.	 Private vehicles, except when used for 

the public transportation of children or 
for transportation by a health care facility 
or day care facility or when used as a taxi 
or other commercial vehicle for hire; and

10.	 All premises of any manufacturer, 
importer, or wholesaler of tobacco 
products, of any tobacco leaf dealer  
or processor, and all tobacco  
storage facilities.

Display sign requirements are also included 
under this new law, and municipalities must 
be aware that signage requirements apply. 
“No Smoking” signs or the international 
no-smoking symbol must be placed at every 
entrance to a public place or place  
of employment where smoking is banned. 

The smoking ban is enforced by the 
Tennessee Department of Health and 

Department of Labor and Workforce 
Development. A person smoking in violation 
of the ban is subject to a civil penalty of $50. 
Owners or managers of public places who 
violate the ban will be subject to a warning 
for a first violation, a civil penalty of $100 
for a second violation in a 12-month period, 
and a civil penalty of $500 for a third or 
subsequent violation in a 12-month period.

For more information about how the 
Non-Smoker Protection Act affects your 
municipality contact your MTAS municipal 
management consultant. You may also 
contact Richard L. Stokes or Bonnie Curran, 
your MTAS human resources consultants. 

To see a copy of the bill visit http://tennessee.
gov/sos/acts/105/pub/pc0410.pdf

This publication may also be accessed at our 
Web site, www.mtas.tennessee.edu.


