Skip to Content
NASHVILLE.gov - Metro Government of Nashville & Davidson County, Tennessee NASHVILLE.gov - Metro Government of Nashville & Davidson County, Tennessee (Print logo)
Public Works

Parking Meters

Parking Meters are placed throughout the Central Business District and western sections of the city, including West End Avenue to 31st Avenue and the Vanderbilt Hospital area. Metro recently introduced green parking technology with the installation on Deaderick Street of the Solar Powered Pay-by-Space On-Street Parking System. The purpose of parking meters is to create turnover and maximize the use of each parking space to accommodate short-term parking demand in the area.

Time Limits

Time limits on meters range from 30 minutes downtown to 2 hours around locations appropriate for longer-term parking, such as doctor's offices, restaurants and retail shopping establishments. Meter parking is free after 6:00 pm Monday through Saturday and all day on Sundays and observed government holidays. Time limits are posted on the parking meters.

Meter Rates

As of August 2009, rates on parking meters are $1.50 per hour in the Central Business District, and $1.00 per hour on all others.

Enforcement

On-street parking regulations are enforced by Public Works Parking Patrol Officers. They patrol meters, loading zones, fire hydrants and other restricted parking areas.

Hours of Enforcement

Metered parking is enforced from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday. Depending on the location, some meters have limitations on available parking times based on lane use demands. Enforcement hours are displayed on individual meters at the top inside portion of the meter.

Violation Fees

Parking citations are issued by the Public Works Parking Patrol and Metro Nashville Police Department Officers. Fines vary based on the violation. Contact The Traffic Violations Bureau for information regarding traffic and parking citations.

Handicapped Parking

Parking at any metered space is free for drivers with handicap placards or license plates. Tennessee Statute, T.C.A. 55-21-105(a) states: "No state agency, county, city, town or other municipality or any agency thereof shall exact any fee for parking on any street or highway or in any metered parking space. The parking privileges granted by this section are limited to any disabled driver or disabled passenger to whom the distinctive license plates or placards were issued."