Skip to Content

Adult Inmate Education Program

Sheriff Hall is arresting the problem of illiteracy and creating solutions to create productive citizens through education after release. The academic learning centers (HDC, CDM, MCC, ORC, CCA, CoreCivic and MSE) at the Davidson County Sheriff’s Office offer Adult Education, Vocation and Post-Secondary Education. The education programs have defined goals and strategies that measure success. Students work on basic to advanced educational programs; such as beginning literacy, English as a Second Language (ESL), High School Equivalency Test (HiSET) program, vocational aptitude testing, and Microsoft Office skills. A diagnostic test is given to determine the level of each learner prior to starting classes. Materials are provided in Spanish and English.

The academic learning centers primary focus is to offer participants who did not complete their traditional high school experience an opportunity to obtain a high school equivalency diploma. The HiSET program is compatible to the current professional development materials used for high school equivalency assessment and covers five core areas:

  • Language Arts – Reading
  • Language Arts – Writing
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Social Studies

The current HiSET exam is aligned to and measures the Office of Career, Technical and Adult Education (OCTAE) College and Career Readiness Standards. Classes are open to participants who request referral through their Case Manager’s, instructors and/or community leaders. When they are prepared to take the official HiSET examination, extra sessions are provided. All of the Sheriff’s Education Coordinators are well qualified. Each instructor has a bachelor’s degree and correctional experience.

Educational Services by the Nashville Sheriff

Metro South East - High School Equivalency Testing Site - Open to the Public

Our High School Equivalency Testing (HiSET) is open to the public. If you are a Davidson County resident interested in taking the HiSET exam, please contact:

615-862-5300, ext. 74717
tmanning@dcso.nashville.org

Location

Metro Southeast - Day Reporting Center
1417 Murfreesboro Pike, Nashville, TN 37217

Class Times

  • Monday: 9 a.m. – 12 noon, 1 p.m. – 3 p.m., and 5 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday: 9 a.m. – 12 noon, 1 p.m. – 3 p.m., and 5 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday: 9 a.m. – 12 noon and 12:30 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.
  • Thursday: 9 a.m. – 12 noon and 12:30 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.

Other Training and Testing Sites

  • Correctional Development Center Official Training and Testing Site - 615-880-3898, ext. 76140
  • Offender Re-Entry Center Official Training and Testing Site - 615-880-3898, ext. 76137
  • Maximum Correctional Center Official Training and Testing Site - 615-880-3898, ext. 76350
  • Hill Detention Center Official Training and Testing Site - 615-880-3898, ext. 76098
  • CoreCivic Official Training and Testing Site - 615-831-7088, ext. 76229

Education Supervisor

Sybil Pruitt
615-880-1950
spruitt@dcso.nashville.org

Education Coordinators

ORC: Anita Bourne
615-880-3898 ext. 76137
abourne@dcso.nashville.org

MCC: Danny Jenkins
615-880-3898 ext. 76350
djenkins@dcso.nashville.org

CDM: David Zazworsky
615-880-3898 ext. 76140
dzazworsky@dcso.nashville.org

Arlene Norman
615-880-3898 ext. 76350
anorman@dcso.nashville.org

Thomas Allen
615-880-3898 ext. 76350
tallen@dcso.nashville.org

MSE: Tiffany Manning
615-880-3898 ext. 74717
tmanning@dcso.nashville.org

HDC: William Bowen
615-880-3898 ext. 76098
wbowen@dcso.nashville.org

CoreCivic: Michael Logsdon
615-831-7088 x6256
Michael.Logsdon@corecivic.com

Metro Nashville Public Schools:
Victor Wharton
Victor.Wharton@mnps.org

Metro Nashville Public Schools:
Joyce Crawford
Joyce.crawford@mnps.org