Section 11.901 of Article 11, Chapter 9 of the Charter of the Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County shall be amended by deleting the section in its entirety and substituting in lieu thereof the following new Section 11.901:

“Section 11.901. Created; qualifications, term and selection of members.

There shall be a metropolitan traffic and parking commission, sometimes in this chapter called the “commission.” The commission shall consist of nine (9) members, who shall serve as such without compensation. One (1) member of the commission shall be a member of the council selected by the council for a term of two (2) year. The remaining eight (8) members of the commission shall be appointed by the mayor and confirmed by a majority of the whole membership of the council. Said eight (8) members shall serve terms of five years each, provided that the first members appointed shall serve terms of one (1), two (2), three (3), four (4) and five (5) years respectively. Any vacancy due to any cause shall be filled for the unexpired term in the same manner as the original appointment.

The present seven (7) members of the commission at the date of this amendment shall continue to hold office for the remainder of their unexpired term.”


Amendment No. ______

This amendment would remove the Chief of Police from the Traffic and Parking Commission, and would provide that eight (8) members instead of seven (7) members be appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Metropolitan Council.

Sponsored by: Leo Waters

Agenda | Minutes | Resolutions | Ordinances  | Boards & Commissions
Charitable Solicitations | Lobbyists  | Committee Meeting Schedule | Forms | Home

Metro Home Page | Metro Department Listings