Skip to Content

Art WORKS: 40 for 40 Project

James C. Napier and J. Frankie Pierce by artist Rob Matthews

Photo: Nashville Civil Rights leaders James C. Napier and J. Frankie Pierce by artist Rob Matthews

On December 22, 1978, Mayor Richard Fulton signed the ordinance which established the Metropolitan Nashville Arts Commission. This year's "40 for 40" project marks our 40th anniversary with the purchase of artworks by 40 artists for the Historic Metro Courthouse and the Metro Office Building. These new works join 50 other pieces that form the city’s “One Percent for Art” public collection. This new program is a key recommendation in Metro Arts’ Public Art Community Investment Plan adopted in spring 2017. Metro Arts plans to scale the program to other Metro-owned buildings with public spaces in future years.

Please join us for the final "40 for 40" reception at the Metro Office Building on Thursday, December 20 from 1-3 p.m. The Metro Office Building is located at 200 Second Avenue South. For this building, a selection panel identified artists whose work is creative and innovative and is reflective of Nashville neighborhoods and places. Selected artists include: John Baeder, Paul Collins, Robert Durham, John Guider, Katherine Krebs, Marilyn Murphy, Michael Ray Nott, David Piñeros, Mandy Rogers Horton, Elizabeth Sanford, James Threalkill, and Thaxton Waters.

In September, the first phase of "40 for 40" was dedicated at the Historic Metro Courthouse. For the courthouse, a citizen selection panel chose artists whose work is creative, innovative and reflects Nashville’s spirit of community, service, justice and equity. Selected artists include: Amelia Briggs, Dane Carder, Carla Ciuffo, Samuel Dunson, Jessica Eichman, Richard Feaster, Gil Given, Amelie Guthrie, Johan Hagaman, Brady Haston, Jodi Hays, Courtney Adair Johnson, Bill Killebrew, Bryant Lamont, Emily Leonard, Megan Lightell, Rob Matthews, Michael McBride, Susan McGrew, Joe Nolan, Lesley Patterson-Marx, Austin Reavis, KJ Schumacher, Hannah Lane Scott, Karen Seapker, Tony Sobota, Vadis Turner, Tara Walters and Kelly Williams. Visitors may view the collection at the Historic Metro Courthouse, located at 1 Public Square, during normal business hours. Artworks are located on the ground, first, second, and third floors and a brochure is available on the first floor. To view the collection online, see the Art WORKS Courthouse Collection.

For more information on "40 for 40" and the Art WORKS Collection, please contact Anne-Leslie Owens