Skip to Content
NASHVILLE.gov - Metro Government of Nashville & Davidson County, Tennessee NASHVILLE.gov - Metro Government of Nashville & Davidson County, Tennessee (Print logo)

Events and Programs

Created Equal: America's Civil Rights Struggle

Created Equal: America's Civil Rights Struggle

Film Screening and Community Discussion Series

Presented by the Metropolitan Historical Commission and Fort Negley Visitors Center and Park

Fort Negley Visitors Center

Saturday, June 21 - Friday, September 26, 2014

For more information on the program schedule, please contact Fort Negley Visitors Center and Park at 615-862-8470.

Created Equal: America's Civil Rights Struggle is made possible through a major grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities, as part of its Bridging Cultures initiative, in partnership with the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History.

Screenings Schedule

The AbolitionistsThe Abolitionists (180 Minutes)

Film Screenings
Date Time Parts
Saturday, June 21 10:00 am All
Saturday, June 21 2:00 pm All
Tuesday, June 24 9:00 am Part I
Tuesday, June 24 10:00 am Part II
Tuesday, June 24 11:00 am Part III
Tuesday, June 24 Noon Part I
Wednesday, June 25 9:00 am Part I
Wednesday, June 25 10:00 am Part II
Wednesday, June 25 11:00 am Part III
Wednesday, June 25 Noon Part II
Thursday, June 26 9:00 am Part I
Thursday, June 26 10:00 am Part II
Thursday, June 26 11:00 am Part III
Thursday, June 26 Noon Part III

Community Discussion: Friday, June 27 at 10:00 am

Slavery By Another NameSlavery By Another Name (90 Minutes)

Film Screenings
Date Time Parts
Saturday, July 19 10:00 am All
Saturday, July 19 2:00 pm All
Tuesday, July 22 9:00 am Part I
Tuesday, July 22 10:00 am Part II
Tuesday, July 22 11:00 am Part I
Tuesday, July 22 Noon Part II
Wednesday, July 23 9:00 am Part I
Wednesday, July 23 10:00 am Part II
Wednesday, July 23 11:00 am Part I
Wednesday, July 23 Noon Part II
Thursday, July 24 9:00 am Part I
Thursday, July 24 10:00 am Part II
Thursday, July 24 11:00 am Part I
Thursday, July 24 Noon Part II

Community Discussion: Friday, July 25 at 10:00 am

The Loving StoryThe Loving Story (77 Minutes)

Film Screenings
Date Time Parts
Saturday, August 16 10:00 am All
Saturday, August 16 2:00 pm All
Tuesday, August 19 9:00 am Part I
Tuesday, August 19 10:00 am Part II
Tuesday, August 19 11:00 am Part I
Tuesday, August 19 Noon Part II
Wednesday, August 20 9:00 am Part I
Wednesday, August 20 10:00 am Part II
Wednesday, August 20 11:00 am Part I
Wednesday, August 20 Noon Part II
Thursday, August 21 9:00 am Part I
Thursday, August 21 10:00 am Part II
Thursday, August 21 11:00 am Part I
Thursday, August 21 Noon Part II

Community Discussion: Friday, August 22 at 10:00 am

Freedom RidersFreedom Riders (120 Minutes)

Film Screenings
Date Time Parts
Saturday, September 20 10:00 am All
Saturday, September 20 2:00 pm All
Tuesday, September 23 9:00 am Part I
Tuesday, September 23 10:00 am Part II
Tuesday, September 23 11:00 am Part I
Tuesday, September 23 Noon Part II
Wednesday, September 24 9:00 am Part I
Wednesday, September 24 10:00 am Part II
Wednesday, September 24 11:00 am Part I
Wednesday, September 24 Noon Part II
Thursday, September 25 9:00 am Part I
Thursday, September 25 10:00 am Part II
Thursday, September 25 11:00 am Part I
Thursday, September 25 Noon Part II

Community Discussion: Friday, September 26 at 10:00 am