Stay up to date on Metro’s tornado response and recovery efforts with our Storm Response Information page.


Stay up to date on Metro’s COVID-19 Coronavirus response.

Skip to Content

Mayor's New Americans Advisory Council

Comprised of leaders from Nashville's refugee and immigrant communities, the Mayor's New Americans Advisory Council (MNAAC) meets monthly in the Mayor's Office to discuss issues relevant to the New American population and to share ideas with government leaders. Its members have played a key role in developing a number of important Metro initiatives to empower New Americans. The council was created in 2009 to help foster a link between Nashville's New American communities and Metro Government.

Current Mayor's New Americans Advisory Council Board Members

Name Title Affiliation Email Phone
Elizabeth Almaraz Community Advocate Conexión Américas elizabeth@conexionamericas.org 615-775-8019
Leon Berrios Family and Civil Mediator Centro de Mediacion Familiar Leonberrios100@gmail.com 615-436-4404
Kayo Beshir Founder Oromo Youth Association of Nashville kayobeshir20@gmail.com 615-864-6401
Kathleen Fuchs Hritz Manager Turner Family Center for Social Ventures, Vanderbilt University Owen School of Management kathleen.fuchs@owen.vanderbilt.edu 571-239-4087
Jacky Gomez Community Advocate Tennessee Latin American Chamber of Commerce jackygomez95@gmail.com 615-568-0786
Nawzad Hawrami Office Manager Salahadeen Center nawzad88@yahoo.com 615-498-2737
Camila Herrera Services Director Tennessee Immigrant and Refugee Rights Coalition camila@tnimmigrant.org 615-873-0326
Abey Lissane Registered Nurse/President Ethiopian Community Association of Nashville (ECAN) AbeyL@ECANtn.org 615-925-0590
Bijal Mehta Community Liaison Indian Community of Nashville bijalm227@gmail.com 615-397-3890
Muna Muday Graduate Student/Somali Community Leader Vanderbilt University mmuday17@gmail.com 615-609-7640
Elizabeth Nhkum Community Leader Burmese (Kachin) Community nhkumlu@gmail.com Not available
Dr. Gatluak Ter Thach President and CEO Nashville International Center for Empowerment gatluak@empowernashville.org 615-315-9681
Nancy Youssef Founder/Chief Corporate Development Officer Curves with Purpose/Soles 4 Soles nyoussef@curveswithpurpose.com Not available