Skip to Content

Resolution RS2020-229

A Resolution recognizing 10 years of the Nashville After Zone Alliance (NAZA).

WHEREAS, the Nashville After Zone Alliance (“NAZA”), launched in 2010 by former Mayor Karl Dean, is a nationally recognized system of free, high-quality afterschool programs that provide academic support and new creative outlets for Metro Nashville middle school students; and

WHEREAS, NAZA is a partnership between the Nashville Public Library, Metro Nashville Public Schools, the Mayor’s Office, and over twenty youth-serving organizations all working collaboratively to improve the learning experiences of youth; and

WHEREAS, NAZA’s mission is to increase equitable access to afterschool and summer learning experiences that help Nashville youth thrive and develop their full potential; and

WHEREAS, NAZA helps to achieve this mission by investing funds in afterschool and summer programs; convening and strengthening the capacity of the youth-serving community; advocating for increased investment in holistic youth development; and empowering youth through initiatives that cultivate their leadership and life skills, connect them to positive relationships, and inspire their love for learning; and

WHEREAS, over the past 10 years, 13,745 young Nashvillians have benefitted directly from NAZA-funded programs offered throughout Nashville and Davidson County. These programs include afterschool, summer, and STEM-focused programming; and

WHEREAS, an additional 12,164 youth have benefitted indirectly from 5,619 youth-serving professionals who attended NAZA trainings; and

WHEREAS, on April 4, 2020, NAZA will celebrate 10 years of investing in high-quality afterschool and summer learning experiences for Nashville youth at the YMCA Nelson Andrews Leadership Center; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that the Metropolitan Council recognize the 10 years of contributions made by NAZA to Nashville.


Section 1. That the Metropolitan County Council hereby goes on record as recognizing 10 years of the Nashville After Zone Alliance (NAZA) and its contributions to Nashville’s youth, families, youth-serving professions, and the city as a whole.

Section 2. This Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.


Zulfat Suara, Brett Withers, Delishia Porterfield, Courtney Johnston, Jeff Syracuse, Sandra Sepulveda, John Rutherford, Freddie O'Connell, Bob Nash, Russ Bradford, Gloria Hausser, Kyonzté Toombs, Nancy VanReece, Sharon Hurt, Burkley Allen, Larry Hagar, Emily Benedict, Tonya Hancock

Legislative History

Referred toRules, Confirmations, and Public Elections Committee

IntroducedMarch 5, 2020

AdoptedMarch 5, 2020

ApprovedMarch 9, 2020

ByMayor Cooper's signature

Requests for ADA accommodation should be directed to the Metropolitan Clerk at 615-862-6770.

Last Modified: 03/10/2020 11:28 AM