Skip to Content

Resolution RS2020-234

A Resolution condemning predatory practices in the wake of the devastating tornado that impacted many residents and businesses in Nashville on March 3, 2020.

WHEREAS, just a few days ago on March 3, 2020, a tornado ripped through Nashville, hitting parts of West Nashville, North Nashville, Germantown, East Nashville, Donelson, and beyond; and

WHEREAS, according to the National Weather Service, two tornados caused damage throughout Davidson, Wilson, Benton, Smith, and Putnam Counties; and

WHEREAS, two individuals were killed Tuesday night in Nashville, with several more fatalities in Putnam, Smith, and Wilson Counties; and

WHEREAS, many residences and businesses were destroyed in the storm and many others have been severely damaged and are in need of rebuilding or repair; and

WHEREAS, individuals have lost their homes and livelihoods, and while many Nashvillians have stepped up to offer support and assistance, some predatory practices have already been reported; and

WHEREAS, the Metropolitan Council would like to go on record as condemning predatory practices, especially those attempting to prey upon those whose homes have been damaged or destroyed and are in need of rebuilding or repair.


Section 1. That the Metropolitan County Council hereby goes on record as condemning any and all predatory practices in the wake of the devastating tornado that impacted many residents and businesses in Nashville on March 3, 2020.

Section 2. This Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.


Jonathan Hall, Joy Styles, Sean Parker, Robert Swope, Kyonzté Toombs, Angie Henderson, Tanaka Vercher, Antoniette Lee, Jennifer Gamble, Zulfat Suara, Burkley Allen, Sharon Hurt, Brett Withers, Kathleen Murphy, Tonya Hancock, Nancy VanReece, Zach Young, Brandon Taylor, Larry Hagar, Ginny Welsch, Colby Sledge, Freddie O'Connell, Thomas Cash, Mary Carolyn Roberts, Gloria Hausser, Russ Bradford, Jeff Syracuse, John Rutherford, Sandra Sepulveda, Delishia Porterfield, Erin Evans, Bob Mendes, Steve Glover, Bob Nash, Courtney Johnston, Russ Pulley, Dave Rosenberg, Thom Druffel, Emily Benedict, Kevin Rhoten

Legislative History

Referred to:Rules, Confirmations, and Public Elections Committee

IntroducedMarch 5, 2020

AdoptedMarch 5, 2020

ApprovedMarch 9, 2020

ByMayor Cooper's signature

Requests for ADA accommodation should be directed to the Metropolitan Clerk at 615-862-6770.

Last Modified: 03/10/2020 11:28 AM