Skip to Content

Resolution RS2019-1811

A resolution recognizing and congratulating the Vanderbilt University Commodores Baseball Team and Coach Tim Corbin on winning the 2019 NCAA Division I National Championship.

WHEREAS, the Vanderbilt Commodores Baseball Team under the leadership of Coach Tim Corbin won the 2019 National Collegiate Athletic Association’s (NCAA) National Division I Championship, the University’s second national title; and

WHEREAS, the Commodores victory on June 26, 2019 at the College World Series in Omaha, Nebraska culminated a season of extraordinary accomplishment; and

WHEREAS, the Commodores set a Southeastern Conference single-season record with their 59 wins and only 12 losses. They became the SEC Regular Season Champions, dominated the SEC Tournament and NCAA Regional Tournaments and reached the NCAA College World Series for their fourth time; and

WHEREAS, during their historic season, the team set five other single-season records with 100 home runs, 541 RBI’s, 339 walks, 578 runs, and 765 strikeouts; and

WHEREAS, during their College World Series run, the team was recognized for their outstanding achievements with Coach Tim Corbin being named the SEC Coach of the Year, outfielder JJ Bleday was named SEC Player of the Year, freshman pitcher Kumar Rocker earned the NCAA Most Outstanding Player honors, as well as the team earning many other awards and honors; and

WHEREAS, this National Championship title is the result of the leadership of Coach Tim Corbin and the groundwork he has laid over his 17 years at Vanderbilt during which he has imparted his knowledge, passion, and dedication to his student-athletes; and

WHEREAS, in addition to the leadership of Head Coach Corbin, the Vanderbilt University Baseball Staff includes Assistant Coaches Scott Brown and Mike Baxter, Volunteer Assistant Coach David Macias, Sports Performance Coach Chris Ham, Athletic Trainer Tracy Campbell, Director of Baseball Operations Brooks Webb, Director of Player Development Brandon Barak, Video Coordinator Josh Ruchotzke, Equipment Manager Kevin Collins, and Administrative Assistant Casey Stangel; and

WHEREAS, this Championship Commodore team is composed of the following outstanding players and exemplary young men: Harrison Ray, Cooper Davis, Philip Clarke, Tate Kolwyck, Isaiah Thomas, Makenzie Stills, Ethan Paul, Matt Hogan, Dominic Keegan, Kiambu Fentress, Austin Martin, Walker Grisanti, Pat DeMarco, Stephen Scott, Ty Duvall, Tyler Brown, Julian Infante, Michael Sandborn, Ethan Smith, Cam McMillan, Patrick Raby, Sterling Hayes, Justin Willis, Hugh Fisher, Erik Kaiser, Zach King, Jackson Gillis, John Malcom, Jake Eder, Justyn-Henry Malloy, Austin Becker, Mason Hickman, Chance Huff, AJ Franklin, Luke Murphy, JJ Bleday, Joe Gobillot, Drake Fellows, Kumar Rocker, and Jayson Gonzalez; and

WHEREAS, the baseball players at Vanderbilt University epitomize all that is good in today’s student-athlete, as they have achieved a premier level of success in competition and academics. Their perseverance, determination, work ethic, and talent have made not only a championship baseball season, but bodes well for their success in the future, and it is indeed appropriate to honor the Vanderbilt University Commodores Baseball Team and coaches at this time; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that the Metropolitan Council recognize and applaud the Vanderbilt Baseball Team for their extraordinary achievements both on and off the baseball field while setting an example for the youth of our community.


Section 1. The Metropolitan Council hereby goes on record as recognizing the Vanderbilt University Commodores Baseball Team, staff and Head Coach Tim Corbin for winning the 2019 NCAA College World Series.

Section 2. This Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.


Kathleen Murphy, Russ Pulley, Burkley Allen, Mina Johnson

Legislative History

Referred toRules, Confirmations, and Public Elections Committee

IntroducedJuly 2, 2019

AdoptedJuly 2, 2019

ApprovedJuly 3, 2019

ByMayor Briley's signature

Requests for ADA accommodation should be directed to the Metropolitan Clerk at 615-862-6770.

Last Modified: 07/05/2019 3:56 PM