Skip to Content

Resolution RS2020-232

A Resolution recognizing March 2, 2020 as “Read Across America Day” in Metropolitan Nashville and Davidson County.

WHEREAS, reading is the foundation upon which learning is built, and on Read Across America Day, our commitment to supporting America’s next generation of readers is by engaging children in good reading habits and making reading a fun and interactive activity; and

WHEREAS, Read Across America Day is annually held on March 2nd as this nationwide observance coincides with the birthday of Theodor Seuss Geisel, better known to many as Dr. Seuss, author of children’s books; and

WHEREAS, we are celebrating in Nashville with individuals, government officials, business leaders, educators and others by going into the schools and reading books by Dr. Seuss; and

WHEREAS, the National Read Across America Celebration is sponsored by the National Education Association and is committed to promoting reading as the catalyst for our students’ future academic success, their preparation for America’s jobs of the future, and their ability to compete in a global economy; and

WHEREAS, the City of Nashville has provided significant leadership in the area of community involvement in the education of our youth, grounded in the principle that educational investment is key to the community’s well-being and long-term quality of life; and

WHEREAS, Read Across America activities promote reading and adult involvement in the education of our city’s students; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that the Metropolitan Council recognizes Read Across America and recommits our city to engage in programs and activities to make America’s children the best readers in the world.


Section 1. The Metropolitan Council hereby goes on record as recognizing March 2, 2020 as "Read Across America" in Metropolitan Nashville and Davidson County.

Section 2. This Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.


Delishia Porterfield, Brett Withers, Sandra Sepulveda, Dave Rosenberg, John Rutherford, Bob Nash, Tonya Hancock, Jeff Syracuse, Kathleen Murphy, Zulfat Suara, Courtney Johnston, Burkley Allen, Freddie O'Connell, Russ Bradford, Brandon Taylor, Emily Benedict, Joy Styles, Thom Druffel, Sharon Hurt, Kyonzté Toombs

Legislative History

Referred toRules, Confirmations, and Public Elections Committee

IntroducedMarch 5, 2020

AdoptedMarch 5, 2020

ApprovedMarch 9, 2020

ByMayor Cooper's signature

Requests for ADA accommodation should be directed to the Metropolitan Clerk at 615-862-6770.

Last Modified: 03/10/2020 11:28 AM