Skip to Content

Resolution RS2019-140

A Resolution recognizing the Tennessee Woman Suffrage Monument Board and their efforts to create the Tennessee Woman Suffrage Monument.

WHEREAS, the Metropolitan Council, in collaboration with the Council’s Women’s Caucus and the Mayor’s Council on the State of Women, is sponsoring a series of Resolutions honoring the women’s suffrage movement to honor the Centennial celebration of the ratification of the 19th Amendment in August 2020; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee played an important role in the ratification of the 19th Amendment to the United States Constitution, which gave women the right to vote. On August 18, 1920, Tennessee became the 36th and final state needed to ratify the 19th Amendment for it to become law; and

WHEREAS, there is national interest in the Suffrage Centennial in August 2020, and in recognition of the 100-year anniversary of women’s right to vote, the Metropolitan Council recognizes the contributions of the Tennessee Woman Suffrage Monument Board, and their efforts to make the Women’s Suffrage Monument a reality; and

WHEREAS, in August 2010, shortly after Women’s Equality Day in Tennessee, the idea of a Women’s Suffrage monument was initiated by Alma Sanford in preparation for the 100-year anniversary of women’s right to vote; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Sanford, then-Vice President of the Tennessee Women’s Political Caucus, approached her fellow board members with the idea of a monument honoring Women’s Suffrage, and the Tennessee suffragists who advocated for women’s equality and assured the ratification of the 19th Amendment; and

WHEREAS, the Tennessee Women’s Political Caucus Board agreed and donated $4,000 as seed money to create a committee that would spearhead a statewide effort to raise funds to commission a fitting Women’s Suffrage memorial; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Sanford was appointed Chair of the committee that would begin building a group to accomplish this project, and immediately begun preparing the necessary paperwork to create a 501(c)(3) non-profit in order for the board to begin their work; and

WHEREAS, the board’s first fundraiser was held at the home of former Mayor Karl Dean and Anne Davis; and

WHEREAS, over the next nearly five years, the board raised $740,000 in private funds and commissioned accomplished Nashville sculptor Alan LeQuire to create the monument; and

WHEREAS, the completed monument was unveiled in Centennial Park on Women’s Equality Day on August 26, 2016, and was officially donated to the Metropolitan Parks and Recreation Department in August 2019; and

WHEREAS, the monument proudly features five suffragists that were instrumental in the ratification battle in 1920: Anne Dallas Dudley of Nashville, Abby Crawford Milton of Chattanooga, J. Frankie Pierce of Nashville, Sue Shelton White of Jackson, and Carrie Chapman Catt, a national suffrage leader who came to Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, in 2017, the Tennessee Society Daughters of the American Revolution awarded the Tennessee Woman Suffrage Monument Board members certificates and pins, naming them the historical preservationists of Tennessee that year; and

WHEREAS, an official dedication service will be held on August 18, 2020 to dedicate the monument to the people of Nashville; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that the Metropolitan Council recognize and celebrate the years of hard work by board members Yvonne Wood, Paula Casey, Janis Sontany, Linda Knight, Jacque Hillman, Adrienne Pakis-Gillon, Rosetta Miller-Perry, Alma Sanford, and Patricia Pierce.


Section 1. The Metropolitan County Council hereby goes on record as recognizing the Tennessee Woman Suffrage Monument Board and their efforts to create the Tennessee Woman Suffrage Monument.

Section 2. This Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.


Nancy VanReece, Courtney Johnston, Tanaka Vercher, Joy Styles, Kathleen Murphy, Sharon Hurt, Jennifer Gamble, Burkley Allen, Tonya Hancock, Ginny Welsch, Gloria Hausser, Mary Carolyn Roberts, Emily Benedict, Kyonzté Toombs, Zulfat Suara, Jeff Syracuse, Delishia Porterfield, Freddie O'Connell, Sandra Sepulveda, John Rutherford, Erin Evans, Brett Withers, Colby Sledge

Legislative History

Referred toRules, Confirmations, and Public Elections Committee

IntroducedDecember 17, 2019

AdoptedDecember 17, 2019

ApprovedDecember 20, 2019

ByMayor Cooper's signature

Requests for ADA accommodation should be directed to the Metropolitan Clerk at 615-862-6770.

Last Modified: 12/20/2019 1:56 PM