Skip to Content

Resolution RS2020-458

A resolution recognizing 2020 Nashville Athena Traditional Award recipient Kee Bryant-McCormick.

WHEREAS, the Athena Award Program was originally organized and sponsored by the Nashville Chapter of the National Association of Women Business Owners (NAWBO) and brought to Nashville in 1990; and

WHEREAS, in 1995, after a recommendation approved by the boards of NAWBO and Cable, annual organizing responsibility for the event was transferred to Cable where it continues today; and

WHEREAS, the Traditional Athena Award celebrates women who demonstrate excellence, creativity and initiative in their profession, contribute to their community, and mentor other women; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Kee Bryant-McCormick was nominated by the Nashville Chapter of The Links, Inc., and is an attorney with Bone, McAllester Norton, PLLC; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Bryant-McCormick is the first African American female to be selected as a Planning Commissioner of Hendersonville and serves as Vice-Chairman of the Hendersonville Planning Commission; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Bryant-McCormick is also the first African American President of the Sumner County Bar Association; and

WHEREAS, she is active in community service, donating her time and talent to organizations including the Nashville Chapter of Links Incorporated, Hendersonville League of Women Voters, Hendersonville Rotary Club, Hendersonville Senior Center, Nashville Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta, and the Nashville Chapter of Jack and Jill of America; and

WHEREAS, she is a Trustee for Volunteer State Community College and a graduate of Leadership Middle Tennessee and Leadership Sumner. In addition, she currently coaches Beech High School’s Mock Trial team, where she has guided students to numerous victories in the district competition. She is also a member of Autism Tennessee and has facilitated presentations for Autism Speaks; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that the Metropolitan Council recognize and congratulate Ms. Kee Bryant-McCormick as the 2020 Nashville Athena Traditional Award recipient and thank her for her work and service to the community.


Section 1. The Metropolitan Council hereby goes on record as recognizing 2020 Nashville Athena Traditional Award recipient Kee Bryant-McCormick.

Section 2. This Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.


Kyonzté Toombs, Kathleen Murphy, Erin Evans, Nancy VanReece, Sharon Hurt, Joy Styles, Courtney Johnston, Ginny Welsch, Zulfat Suara, Jeff Syracuse, Zachary Young, Bob Nash, Brandon Taylor, Tonya Hancock, Emily Benedict, Gloria Hausser, Delishia Porterfield, Burkley Allen

Legislative History

Referred toRules, Confirmations, and Public Elections Committee

IntroducedJuly 21, 2020

AdoptedJuly 21, 2020

ApprovedJuly 22, 2020

ByMayor Cooper's signature

Requests for ADA accommodation should be directed to the Metropolitan Clerk at 615-862-6770.

Last Modified: 08/03/2020 2:09 PM