Stay up to date on Metro’s tornado response and recovery efforts with our Storm Response Information page.

Stay up to date on Metro’s COVID-19 Coronavirus response.

Skip to Content

2014 MNPD Annual Awards Ceremony


More than 40 citizens and police officers were honored at the MNPD’s Annual Awards Ceremony held on April 8th at the Loews Vanderbilt Hotel on West End Avenue. Chief Anderson and Mayor Dean presented plaques to the citizens. Police personnel received certificates and uniform ribbons. Here are just a few of the winners:

  • Sergeant James Smith and Officer Jean McCormack were among several officers honored for saving lives of citizens in various circumstances.
  • Detective Chad Gish, Sergeant Mike Shreeve and Detective Jason Mayo received Exemplary Service Awards for their tireless work investigating the rape of a Vanderbilt University student in a campus dormitory.
  • Timothy Dodson & Ronnie Thompson received Citizen Commendation Awards for subduing a shooting suspect.
  • Retiring District Attorney General Torry Johnson received a Community Service Award for his 27 years of service as Davidson County’s top prosecutor.