Skip to Content

Mayor Adds Four Members to Diversity Advisory Committee


Davidson County Clerk Brenda Wynn Named Co-Chair

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - Mayor Karl Dean today announced an expansion of the newly created Diversity Advisory Committee with the addition of four new members. Additionally, he has appointed Davidson County Clerk Brenda Wynn to serve as co-chair with Metro Water Services Director Scott Potter.

Newly appointed members include Davidson County Juvenile Court Judge Sheila Calloway and Metro Deputy Finance Director Talia Lomax-O'dneal. Additionally, Metro Council Members Sandra Moore and Sheri Weiner will serve as representatives of the Metro Council and were recommended by Vice Mayor Diane Neighbors.

"I am pleased that we were able to make a strong committee even better," Mayor Dean said. "We recognize that more voices at the table give us the best opportunity to ensure our workforce represents the rich diversity of Nashville's population."

Last week, Mayor Dean signed an executive order to create the Diversity Advisory Committee and named nine members. The executive order will be amended to reflect the expansion.

The Diversity Advisory Committee will serve in an advisory capacity to the Mayor and will develop a plan that will ultimately assist all Metropolitan Government agencies, boards and commissions in their efforts to recruit, hire and retain a workforce that is inclusive and representative of Nashville's demographics.

The nine members appointed last week were Potter; Wynn; Police Chief Steve Anderson; Metro Action Commission Director Cynthia Croom; Interim Human Resources Director Veronica Frazier; Acting Public Works Director Randy Lovett; Law Director Saul Solomon; Interim Human Relations Commission Director Tom Negri; and Fire Chief Ricky White.

They will hold their first meeting on Feb. 5 from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the Metro Water Services Biosolids Facility Conference Room, 1810 Cement Plant Road. Members of the public are welcome to attend the meeting.