Skip to Content

District 1 Special Runoff Election Will Determine Council Representative


Election Day is June 28

Contact: Jeff Roberts

Candidates Judy Cummings and Jonathan Hall will vie in a Special Runoff Election for District 1, following the Special Election in May for the vacancy on the Metropolitan Council. Election Day is Thursday, June 28, 2018.

A Special Election was held for District 1 after former Council member Nick Leonardo was selected by his colleagues to fill the General Sessions judge position, previously held by Angie Blackshear Dalton. Special Election candidates included Sylvester Armor, Ruby Baker, Gwen Brown-Felder, Judy Cummings and Jonathan Hall.

Cummings and Hall – with 27 percent and 34 percent of votes cast, respectively – bested other candidates in the Special Election, but neither received a majority of the votes cast. As a result, the Metropolitan Charter calls for a Runoff Election.

“Voting is an important means for residents to shape their communities,” said Jeff Roberts, Davidson County administrator of elections. “We encourage all registered District 1 voters to participate and cast their ballots for the District 1 Council seat.”

On Election Day, June 28, residents must vote at their assigned polling location, printed on their voter registration card or found via the Polling Place Finder at  Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Polling Locations
Precinct Name Address
1-1 Joelton First Baptist Church 7140 Whites Creek Pike
1-2 Dentons Chapel United Methodist Church 4550 Dry Fork Road
1-3 Cathedral of Praise Church 4300 Clarksville Pike
1-4 Scottsboro Community Center 5102 Old Hydes Ferry Pike
1-5 Bordeaux Library 4000 Clarksville Pike

All voters must present a Federal or Tennessee state government-issued photo ID, unless an exception applies. Student IDs are not acceptable.

About the Davidson County Election Commission

The Davidson County Election Commission is responsible for providing free and fair elections to every eligible citizen. The Election Commission is regulated by State of Tennessee law and funded by Metropolitan Nashville government. The main office is located at 1417 Murfreesboro Pike, Nashville, TN 37217.