Stay up to date on Metro’s tornado response and recovery efforts with our Storm Response Information page.

Stay up to date on Metro’s COVID-19 Coronavirus response.

Skip to Content

District 29 Special Runoff Election Will Determine Council Representative

Jeff Roberts, 615-862-8813

Early Voting Begins February 27

Candidates Nick LaMattina and Delishia Porterfield will vie in a Special Runoff Election for District 29, following the Special Election held February 12 for the vacancy on the Metropolitan Council. Early Voting begins February 27 and Election Day will be Tuesday, March 19, 2019.

LaMattina and Porterfield – with 41 percent and 44 percent of votes cast, respectively – bested candidates Constance Smith-Burwell and Vicky Tataryn, but neither received a majority of the votes cast. As a result, the Metropolitan Charter calls for a runoff election.

“Voting is an important means for residents to shape their communities,” said Jeff Roberts, Davidson County administrator of elections. “We encourage all registered District 29 voters to participate and cast their ballots for the District 29 Council seat.”

Early Voting will be held at the Main Office of the Davidson County Election Commission, located at 1417 Murfreesboro Pike, beginning Wednesday, February 27 through Thursday, March 14, 2019.

Early Voting Schedule

  • Monday, Wednesday, Friday: 8:00 a.m.–4:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Thursday: 8:00 a.m.–6:30 p.m.
  • Saturday: 8:00 a.m.–12:00 noon

If Metropolitan Government Offices close due to inclement weather, Early Voting will also close.

On Election Day, March 19, residents must vote at their assigned polling location, printed on their voter registration card or found via the Polling Place Finder at Polls will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Polling Locations
Precinct Number Location
29-1 Priest Lake Presbyterian Church
2787 Smith Springs Road
29-2 Lakeview Elementary School
455 Rural Hill Road
29-3 Hamilton United Methodist Church
3105 Hamilton Church Road
29-4 Smith Springs Community Center
2801 Smith Springs Road

All voters must present a Federal or Tennessee state government-issued photo ID, unless an exception applies.

About the Davidson County Election Commission

The Davidson County Election Commission is responsible for providing free and fair elections to every eligible citizen. The Election Commission is regulated by State of Tennessee law and funded by Metropolitan Nashville government. The main office is located at 1417 Murfreesboro Pike, Nashville, TN 37217.