Metro Public Health Department Extends Clinic Hours to Offer Immunizations for Children Going Back to School
Metro Public Health Department officials announced today that the Department will extend clinic hours to offer immunizations for Nashville children heading back to school. Metro Nashville Public School students will head back to school August 5. Students from kindergarten through 12th grade must have proof of required immunizations and a Tennessee Immunization Record to attend MNPS schools.
The Health Department offers children’s immunizations by appointment, Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. – 3:30 p.m. throughout the year at the East Health Center, 1015 East Trinity Lane; Lentz Health Center, 2500 Charlotte Ave.; and Woodbine Health Center.
Parents are reminded to bring their child’s immunization record with them to help nurses know what shots are needed.
Tennessee State law requires children entering school to provide documented proof of all age appropriate immunizations. Students entering 7th grade must provide proof of a Tennessee Immunization Certificate showing that they have received both a Tetanus, Diphtheria and Pertussis booster (Tdap), as well as a Varicella booster (Chicken Pox) , or proof of having had the Chicken Pox disease.
The Health Department will be adding After Hours and Saturday Back-to-School Shot Clinics at the Lentz Public Health Center, East Health Center and Woodbine Health Center. Families with children entering school are encouraged to make an appointment now by calling the location where you will visit.
After Hours and Weekend Back-to-School Shot Clinic Hours:
Lentz Public Health Center
2500 Charlotte Ave
Nashville, TN, 37209
Back-to-School Immunization Clinic Hours at Lentz
July 22 – August 15
Tuesdays and Thursdays: 7 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday, July 27, August 3 and August 10: 7 a.m. – 12 p.m.
East Public Health Center
1015 East Trinity Lane
Nashville, TN 37216
Back-to-School Immunization Clinic Hours at East
July 22 – August 15
Monday – Friday: 8 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.
July 24, July 31, August 7 and August 14: 8 a.m. – 6 p.m.
Woodbine Public Health Center
224 Oriel Ave
Nashville, TN 37210
Back-to-School Immunization Clinic Hours at Woodbine
Extended Hours July 22 – August 16
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday: 7 a.m. – 5:30 p.m.
Thursday 7 a.m. – 7 p.m.
The Health Department offers immunizations to anyone seeking immunizations but wants to reach those without health insurance.
Health officials suggest children with private insurance go to their primary care provider for their immunizations. The Health Department can provide the vaccine for a fee for those that have private insurance and cannot get in to see their primary care provider.
Eligible children through 18 years of age may receive free, federally-funded vaccine through the Vaccines for Children Program. There is a $20 administration fee charged for vaccines but will slide according to income. Children through 18 years of age who meet at least one of the following criteria are eligible to receive these vaccines:
TennCare/Uninsured/American Indian or Alaska Native/Underinsured
Requirements for school vaccinations in Tennessee include:
- Kindergarteners and other children enrolling in a Tennessee school for the first time must provide schools with a complete Official Tennessee Immunization Certificate before classes begin. The certificate must be signed by a qualified healthcare provider or verified by the state’s Immunization Information System.
- All current students entering seventh grade are required to give the school a limited Official Tennessee Immunization Certificate showing they have had a second dose of chickenpox vaccine (or a history of the illness) and a booster shot for tetanus, diphtheria and pertussis. The HPV vaccine and first meningococcal meningitis vaccine are not required for school attendance, but are recommended by pediatricians and public health experts for all children at this age and can be given at the same visit.
- Incoming college students in Tennessee public colleges who will live in on-campus housing must provide proof of immunization against meningococcal meningitis after age 16. Most private colleges also have requirements for this vaccine and some schools require it of all new students. Check with your college for details.
For more information about school immunization requirements in Tennessee, visit School Immunization Information. Please visit the Metro Public Health Department’s website for more information about school immunizations.