Skip to Content

Mayor Cooper Appoints 48 Members to Sustainability Advisory Committee


Mayor John Cooper today announced the names of 48 members of the Nashville community who will serve on the Sustainability Advisory Committee. The Mayor announced the establishment of the Sustainability Advisory Committee during his announcement of multiple initiatives to combat climate change and promote sustainability in Dec. 2019.

The Committee will provide advice on a range of sustainability issues and review active proposals as they are being advanced and implemented by the Mayor and Metro Council through legislation, executive orders, policy changes and practices. The Committee will start by advising and supporting the City’s commitment pursuant to the Global Covenant of Mayors to develop a Climate Action Plan for the city of Nashville.

“The Sustainability Advisory Committee will have an active role in addressing climate change and alternative energy challenges in Metro Government,” said Mayor Cooper. “I’m tremendously grateful to all members of the Committee – dedicated Nashvillians with diverse skill sets and a combined wealth of real-world experience who will help address the multiplying threats to our environment and shore up protections for our limited natural resources.”

Vanderbilt University Vice Chancellor for Administration Eric Kopstain and Vanderbilt Law School lecturer Linda Breggin, a senior attorney with the Environmental Law Institute in Washington, D.C., and project director for the Nashville Food Waste Initiative, have been named co-chairs of the Committee.

“It is an honor and a pleasure to serve in this capacity and to work with a talented and passionate group of community leaders on this committee,” said Kopstain. “I know a lot of work has already been done in our city surrounding sustainability-related issues, and I look forward to continuing the momentum surrounding this critically important topic.”

“The Mayor’s recent initiatives on sustainability are critical to ensuring that the City continues to prosper and are consistent with the efforts of other cities in our state—and around the world—that are positioning their communities to thrive in the face of climate change,” added Breggin.

Six subcommittees will review and augment, as appropriate, the work that already has been done to develop and implement sustainability plans and recommendations for the city—including the work of Livable Nashville, NashvilleNext, the Green Ribbon Committee and Plan to Play.

Subcommittees will address the components of the climate action plan—mobility, energy, waste reduction, green buildings, natural resources and climate adaptation and resilience.

The complete list of the Sustainability Advisory Committee members follows:

Name Organization Subcommittee
Linda Breggin Environmental Law Institute and NRDC’s Nashville Food Waste Initiative Co-chair
Eric Kopstain Vanderbilt University Co-chair
David Bailey Hastings Architecture Green Buildings
Holly Baird MilePost Consulting Green Buildings
Sue Ballard de Ruiz Tennessee State University Mobility
Darek Bell Bell Construction Green Buildings
Jason Carney Tennessee Solar Energy Energy
Michael Connolly CSX Mobility
Terry Cook The Nature Conservancy Natural Resources
Anne Davis Attorney Energy
Mark Deutschmann Village Real Estate Services, Core Development Services; ULI Mobility
Paul Farley Waste Management Waste Reduction
Bob Freeman State representative; Freeman Applegate Partners Green Buildings
Dodd Galbreath Lipscomb University Natural Resources
Brian Gant SCS Engineers; Chamber of Commerce representative Mobility
Amanda Garcia Southern Environmental Law Center Green Buildings
Gary Gaston Nashville Civic Design Center Mobility
Beth Prichard Geer Office of Al Gore/The Carthage Group Natural Resources
Andrea George Vanderbilt University, Sustainability and Environmental Management Waste Reduction
Erin Hafkenschiel Vanderbilt University, Mobility Mobility
Brad Hall Office of Al Gore/The Carthage Group Energy
Sizwe Herring EarthMatters Tennessee Waste Reduction
Rob Horton Trap Garden Natural Resources
Mekayle Houghton Cumberland River Compact Natural Resources
Daniel Joranko Vanderbilt University, Divinity School Energy
Nora Kern Walk Bike Nashville Mobility
Steve Law Tennessee Parks and Greenways Foundation Natural Resources
David Lawrence Hines Natural Resources
Todd Lawrence Urban Green Lab Waste Reduction
Geoff MacDonald Vanderbilt University, Athletics Energy
Liz Edsall McLaurin Land Trust for Tennessee Resilience/Adaptation
Jaclyn Mothupi Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation Resilience/Adaptation
Jenny Park The Trust for Public Land Natural Resources
Katie Poss Turner Construction Company Waste Reduction
David Proffitt Metro Nashville Public Schools Energy
Ian Prunty Building Robotics Inc. Green Buildings
John Sherman Solid Waste Board Waste Reduction
Kim Shinn TLC Engineering Solutions Green Buildings
Ryan Stanton Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation Energy
Grace Stranch Sierra Club, Middle Tennessee Waste Reduction
David ter Kuile Vanderbilt University, Business Services Waste Reduction
Mary Vavra Transit Now Nashville Mobility
Robert Waits Hodgson Douglas Natural Resources
Ed Wansing The Compost Company Waste Reduction
Erica Weeks Hastings Architecture Green Buildings
Tiffany Wilmot Wilmot Inc. Energy
Robert Wingfield Fisk University Energy
Manuel Zeitlin Manuel Zeitlin Architects Green Buildings