Skip to Content
Planning Department

Planning Department Directory

Department Phone
Main number 615-862-7150
Customer Service Desk (call here with questions) 615-862-7190
Bond Desk 615-862-7197

Executive Office

Name Department Phone
Bob Leeman AICP Interim Executive Director 615-862-7183
George Rooker Special Projects Manager 615-862-7154
Nicholas J. Lindeman Special Projects Planner 615-862-7198
Craig Owensby Public Information Officer 615-862-7192
Kelly Adams Administrative Services Officer 615-862-7171

Land Development

Land Development planners review subdivisions, rezonings, and other applications related to the zoning code, guide applicants through the development process, and write staff reports advising the Planning Commission. The Development Finance Officer processes performance bonds and letters of credit. The front counter accepts applications and answers zoning and subdivision questions.

Name Department Phone
Lucy Kempf Manager 615-862-7173
Lisa Milligan AICP Senior Planner 615-862-7203
Latisha Birkeland Planner 2 615-862-7161
Patrick Napier Planner 2 615-862-7153
Deborah Sullivan Planner 2 615-862-7190
Shawn Shepard AICP Planner 2 615-862-6263
Abbie Rickoff AICP Planner 2 615-862-7217
Levi Hill Planner 2 615-862-7006
Karimeh Sharp Planner 1 615-862-7190
Gene Burse AICP Planner 1 615-862-7155
Michelle Hollingsworth Development Finance Officer 615-862-7197
Jason Rust Planning Technician II 615-862-7208

Community Design

Community Design planners work with residents, property owners, developers and other stakeholders to create appropriate development based on each community's needs and goals.

Name Department Phone
Lee Jones AICP, PLA Manager 615-862-7193
Anita McCaig AICP Planner 3 615-862-7156
Marty Sewell AICP Planner 3 615-862-7218
Andrew Collins AICP Planner 3 615-862-7207
Dara Sanders Planner 2 615-862-7210
Justin Wallace Planner 1 615-862-7158
Jessica Buechler Planner 1 615-862-7184
Anna Grider Planner 1 615-862-7199

Multimodal Transportation Planning & Programming

Multimodal Transportation planners and engineers work with the Metro Public Works Division of Transportation (MDOT) to develop and implement the city’s transportation vision through public and private sector projects, policies, and programs. They assist Metro departments in prioritizing, aligning, and programming transportation projects and activities.

Name Department Phone
Michael Briggs AICP Manager 615-862-7219
Peter Bird Active Transportation Planner 615-862-7174
Elwyn Gonzalez AICP Transportation Planner 615-862-7163
Miranda Clements AICP TDM Program Manager 615-862-7180

Capital Improvements Planning

Name Department Phone
Greg Claxton AICP Planner 3 615-862-7162
Laura Hardwicke Grants Coordinator 615-862-7185
Elham Daha Planner 1 615-862-7188

GIS and Mapping Services

Our MetroGIS division generates, organizes, and analyzes spatial data, creates maps, and provides information about our county’s physical structure for other Metro departments and the general public. GIS (an abbreviation of "Geographic Information Systems") is a system of hardware and software used for storage, retrieval, mapping, and analysis of geographic data; here, GIS provides a better understanding of our county's physical attributes and supports more informed decisions about land use and development.

Name Department Phone
Jennifer Higgs Director 615-880-3416
John Broome GIS Manager 615-862-7216
Kyle Lampert GIS Analyst 615-862-7179
Sharon O'Conner GIS Technician 615-880-2466
Josh Swiderski GIS Technician 615-862-7177
David Kline Cadastral Manager 615-880-2465
Kevin Jackson Cadastral Analyst 615-862-7181
Kathy Beers Cadastral Analyst 615-862-7175
Jen Johnson Geodesign Specialist 615-862-7214

Budgeting and Finance

Name Department Phone
Jeffrey Leach Finance Officer 615-862-7159
Josie L. Bass Administrative and Librarian 615-862-7150

AICP Certification

Several of our planners, as noted in their individual listings, have earned what the American Planning Association calls "a high mark of distinction" in the planning profession - membership in the American Institute of Certified Planners.

AICP certification is awarded to planners who pass a rigorous examination covering the history and theory of planning, urban design, law, ethics, and quantitative methods.