
Application Information as of May 6, 2020 

Codes and Building Safety 
800 2nd Ave S  
Nashville, TN 37210 

 

SHORT TERM RENTAL PERMIT APPLICATION CHECKLIST 

 Create floor plan Basic floor plan on letter sized (8.5” x 11”) paper MUST 
include all rooms with walls, doors, windows, and smoke 
detectors identified for each floor of house (see examples).  

 Proof of liability insurance Proof of insurance evidencing homeowner's fire, hazard, and 
liability insurance. Liability coverage shall have limits of not 
less than one million dollars per occurrence. 

 Proof of notification to adjacent property owners Property owners adjacent to the applicant property must be 
notified in-person or via certified mail (detailed instructions).  

  Provide two forms of identification showing proof of residence Acceptable documentation includes: (a) Tennessee Driver's 
license; (b) other valid State of Tennessee identification card; 
(c) Davidson County voter registration card; (d) current 
employer verification of residential address or a letter from the 
employer on company letterhead with original signature. (If the 
employer does not have letterhead, the signature of the 
employer must be notarized.); (e) current automobile, life or 
health insurance policy. (Wallet Cards not accepted); (f) 
paycheck/check stub, (g) work ID or badge, (h) Internal 
Revenue Service tax reporting W-2 form; or (i) a bank 
statement. Utility bills are not proof of residence.  

 Proof of payment of all taxes due Proof of payment of all taxes due, including property taxes 
and, for permit renewals, all applicable room, occupancy, and 
sales taxes required by state law or the Metropolitan Code. 

 Contact information for applicant and responsible party Name, phone number, address and email of the person that 
will be the responsible party for the short term rental operation. 
The responsible party must reside within a 25 mile radius of 
the subject property. 

 Homeowners Association statement – This is a requirement 
for every application, whether you have an HOA or not.  

A statement that that the applicant has confirmed that 
operating the proposed STRP would not violate any Home 
Owners Association agreement or bylaws, Condominium 
Agreement, Covenants, Codes and Restrictions or any other 
agreement governing and limiting the use of the proposed 
STRP property (pdf template).   

 Notarized affidavit Affidavit confirming that all information provided with the 
application is true and accurate (pdf template). 

 Meet with Zoning Examiner Provide the aforementioned documents to the zoning 
examiner to begin the application process.  

 Initiate Fire Marshal Inspection After the STRP permit application has been generated, 
applicants must schedule an inspection with the Fire Marshal’s 
office (pdf instructions).   

 $313.00 Permit Fee Pay $313.00 permit fee – cash, check or credit cards are 
accepted (a 2.3% processing fee will be applied to all credit 
card payments). 

 Receive Permit   Unless or until you receive a permit, you are not authorized to 
list your property for rent on a website.  

 Post permit on listing The permit number or a picture of your permit must be 
included in the listing on all short term rental postings.  

 

DO NOT STAPLE APPLICATION DOCUMENTS 


