
Tennessee Seat Belt Laws 

Attention Drivers!  

 

Protecting children in the car is your responsibility. 

If children ever ride in your car—you must know and follow the law.  

Tennessee Seat Belt Laws - (TCA 55-9-602 & 603) Primary Laws 

Effective July 1, 2005—Present 

  

Child’s 

Age/Weight/Height 

 

Type of Seat 

 

Location of Seat 

Additional 

Information 

0-1 year 

& 20 lbs. or less 
Rear Facing 

Rear Seat if 

Available 

Seat must meet 

Federal Motor 

Vehicle Safety 

Standards and be 

used according to 

child safety 

restraint system 

or vehicle 

manufacturer’s 

instructions 

1 year through 3 years 

& greater than 20 lbs. 
Forward Facing 

Rear Seat if 

Available 

4 years through 8 years 

& less than 4’9” tall 

Belt Positioning 

Booster Seat 

Rear Seat if 

Available 

9 years through 12 

years 

& 4’9” tall or greater 

Vehicle Seat 

Belt System 

Rear Seat 

Recommended 

13 years through 17 

years 
Vehicle Seat Belt System   

Additional NHTSA Recommendations 

 Never place a rear-facing seat in front of an active air bag!  

 Child safety seats can not be used on side-facing jump seats.  

 A booster seat should always be used with the vehicle lap AND shoulder belt. High-back booster seats 

are required when vehicle headrests are not available. Never allow a child to place the shoulder belt 

behind their back or under their arm.  

 Children are ready for adult seat belts when they can sit back against seat with knees bent over edge of 

seat and feet on floor. Shoulder belt should cross shoulder and chest (not neck) and lap belt should rest 

across pelvis or hips (not abdomen).  

Not all vehicle and family situations will have a good answer. You may need to work with a Child Passenger 

Safety Technician to find the best answer for a particular situation. You can find a technician at:  

Governor's Highway Safety Office 

TN Traffic Safety Resource Service 

http://www.tntrafficsafety.org 

or call 1-800-99BELTS 

Remember:  Never leave your child in a HOT CAR.  Never ! 

 

 

http://www.tntrafficsafety.org/


Links 

For information on choosing the correct type of car seat 

National Highway Traffic and Safety Administration 

Safe Kids Worldwide 

Safe Kids Worldwide - Safety In and Around Cars 

Tennessee Child Restraint Law 

Tennessee Department of Health Child Safety Information 

Tennessee Unattended Children in Vehicles Law 

To check car seat recall list  

 

http://www.nhtsa.gov/portal/site/nhtsa/template.MAXIMIZE/menuitem.9f8c7d6359e0e9bbbf30811060008a0c/?javax.portlet.tpst=4427b997caacf504a8bdba101891ef9a_ws_MX&javax.portlet.prp_4427b997caacf504a8bdba101891ef9a_viewID=detail_view&itemID=ce45e2542a964110VgnVCM1000002fd17898RCRD&viewType=standard
http://www.nhtsa.dot.gov/
http://www.usa.safekids.org/
http://www.usa.safekids.org/skbu/cars/index.html
http://www.tennessee.gov/safety/newCRD.htm
http://health.state.tn.us/FactSheets/childsafety.htm
http://www.tntrafficsafety.org/htm/Laws/child803.htm
http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/recalls/childseat.cfm

