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Full-time employees who are eligible (based upon six months of continuous service) may be granted up to thirty (30) work days of leave, designated as Paid Family Leave, for the following purposes:

i. the birth of your child and in order to care for the child;
ii. the placement of a child with you for adoption:
iii. to care for your spouse, son, daughter, or parent who has a serious health condition

Paid Family Leave will be administered pursuant to the Metro FMLA Policy Handbook with the following specific direction:

a. The leave may not be taken for the employee’s own serious health condition.
b. For the purposes of this policy, “spouse” means a husband or wife as defined or recognized in the state or place where the individual was married and includes individuals in a lawfully recognized same-sex marriage.
c. In the case of birth or adoption, Metro Paid Family Leave will be available starting with the date of birth, date of adoption, or date that legal custody is granted.
d. The leave shall run concurrently with, and be counted as, regular FMLA leave (if the employee is eligible for FMLA leave).
e. Employee eligibility is dependent upon six months of continuous, full-time employment (32 hours per week or more). Part-time, seasonal, and probationary employees are not eligible for Paid Family Leave.
f. If an employee has Short Term Disability insurance, Paid Family Leave will be treated as paid sick leave so that employees may not receive paid Short Term Disability benefits and Paid Family Leave for the same time period.
g. A total of 30 Paid Family Leave days may be taken. Paid Family Leave commences on the first date leave is taken and must be concluded no later than twelve (12) months from that date. Any Paid Family Leave not taken during the twelve month period just described shall not carry over to any subsequent FMLA year or need for leave.
h. For spouses who are both employed by Metro, as discussed at Sec. I(6) of the Metro FMLA Handbook, each spouse shall be entitled to thirty (30) days of Paid Family Leave.
i. The Tennessee Maternity Leave Act, TN Code Sec. 4-21-408, shall apply to Paid Family Leave. An employee may begin childbirth or bonding leave by using Paid Family Leave for thirty (30) days and may follow such leave by using regular FMLA leave (paid or unpaid depending on their individual accrued leave balances). The combined leave just described may not exceed 12 workweeks of leave pursuant to the FMLA. The employee may then use an additional 4 weeks of paid or unpaid leave, provided they are determined eligible to take leave under the Tennessee Maternity Leave Act.
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