Skip to Content
Public Works

Metro Tree Advisory Committee

Nashville skyline beyond row of trees

Mission Statement

The purpose of the Metro Tree Advisory Committee is to assist in educating the community and agencies of the Metropolitan Government regarding the value of trees and proper techniques for the planting, maintenance, and removal of trees.

Annual Retreat

The MTAC holds an annual retreat to plan volunteer and outreach activities and to discuss the long term needs of Nashville's Urban Forest.

Metro Tree Advisory Committee

Arbor Day

Tree City USA banner displayed at Arbor Day Ceremony

Nashville celebrates Arbor Day, in early spring, and receives its Tree City USA and Tree Line USA recognition from the National Arbor Day Foundation. The Metro Tree Advisory Committee presents an award for any development which exceeds the spirit of the Tree Ordinance. Students read their winning essays on trees, tree art is on display and trees are planted in honor or memory of Nashvillians.

More about Arbor Day

Metro Tree Advisory Committee at the Lawn and Garden ShowTree Giveaway

The Metro Tree Advisory Committee distributes thousands of tree seedlings and provides expert tree advise at the annual Lawn and Garden Show. The 2019 Show will be held at the Tennessee State Fair Grounds on Thursday, February 28 - Sunday, March 3, 2019.

Buy tickets for the Lawn and Garden show.

ReLeafing Day

ReLeafing Day projects

The Metro Tree Advisory Committee provides support for the Nashville Tree Foundation’s ReLeafing Day. Members conduct tree-planting demonstrations and help plant and water trees.

Metro Tree Advisory Committee logo

Committee Members

Carol Ashworth
Alice Ann Barge
Dwight Beard
Natalie Billingsby
Libby Cheek
Michael Davie
Dean Glascock
Cynthia Hernandez
Sizwe Herring
Kevin Key
Neil Letson, Immediate Past Chair
Heather Listermann
Patricia Miller, Chair
Paul Mulloy
Carolyn Sorenson
Bill Tolbert
Mary Weber
William Worrall
Dr. De'Etra Young
Treff Alexander, Ex Officio
Rebecca Dohn, Ex Officio
Carol Edwards, Ex Officio
Eric Hammer, Ex Officio
Stephan Kivett, Ex Officio
Randall Lantz, Ex Officio
Naomi Rotramel, Ex Officio
Jennifer Smith, Ex Officio
Jonathan Wyatt, Ex Officio