A resolution recognizing James H. (Jim) Fyke upon his retirement with the Metropolitan Government.

WHEREAS, on March 31, 2003, James H. (Jim) Fyke, Director of the Metropolitan Board of Parks and Recreation retired after thirty-eight years and is well deserving of this recognition; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Fyke began his parks career as a Sports Supervisor in 1964 where he served until 1970, he then became Superintendent of Administration and Special Services from 1970-1978, and later in 1978 he was appointed director of the Metropolitan Board of Parks and Recreation, a position which he held with distinction; and

WHEREAS, during his tenure as Director some of his major accomplishments include being a steward of the city’s 100 parks, 91 playgrounds and 24 community centers, oversaw the formation of the first ever recently adopted Park/Greenway County-wide ten year Master Plan, accepted the single largest donation of land – from the Al Beaman family, and acquired numerous acres of land for various parks projects; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Fyke coordinated the construction and gilding of the Athena Statue in the Parthenon along with overseeing the restoration project of the Parthenon, development of the Nashville Predators Practice Ice Rink, development in conjunction with the Tennessee PGA First Tee inner city youth golf renovation project at Riverview Golf Course in Shelby Park, founder of Men’s and Women’s Municipal Amateur Golf Championships, organized the first annual July 4th Celebration at Riverfront Park, oversaw construction of community centers at Hermitage and Antioch Parks, several swimming pools, and the development of Shelby Bottoms Greenway, Hamilton Creek Marina and Wave Pool; and

WHEREAS, in 1987 Mr. Fyke negotiated the land exchange between Metro Parks and Hospital Corporation of America (HCA). Metro Parks exchanged 12 acres of land (20 year old tennis center and nine year old ice rink occupied this acreage) for 12 acres of land (formerly the property of Oman Construction Company) which was purchased by HCA and 12 million dollars (from HCA) to reconstruct and improve the recreational facilities lost. Construction began on the Sportsplex in 1988 and subsequently opened February 17, 1990; and

WHEREAS, in 1998, Mr. Fyke, accepted on behalf of Metro Parks a one million dollar donation from Mr. Les Speyer to construct the Ruthelia Buchi Indoor Tennis Center at the Centennial Sportsplex; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Fyke has been actively involved with many community and civic organizations where he is presently a Board Member of the Nashville Sports Council, the Nashville Predators Foundation and the Charles Davis Foundation, he is a member of and has held various offices in the Tennessee Recreation and Park Association; was Chairman of Local Host Committee for the 1993 Tennessee Sportsfest Finals and served in many capacities with other prominent organizations; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Fyke has received a host of well-deserved accolades including the 2002 Youth Incorporated Award, the 2001 Nashville Sports Council’s Lifetime Achievement Award, the 2001 Best Friend Award and the Fellow Award in 1982; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Fyke is to be commended for his timeless efforts for the improvement of recreational opportunities for our children, young adults, and adults and will sorely be missed not only as the director but for his leadership, dedication and professionalism; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that the Metropolitan Council recognizes James H. (Jim) Fyke for his work and accomplishments with the Metropolitan Board of Parks and Recreation and wish him much success as he moves forward with his new position.


Section 1. The Metropolitan Council hereby goes on record as recognizing James H. (Jim) Fyke upon his retirement from with the Metropolitan Government.

Section 2. The Metropolitan Council Office is directed to prepare a hand-lettered scroll to be presented to James H. (Jim) Fyke.

Section 3. This Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.

Sponsored by: Charlie Tygard, Ludye Wallace, Lynn Williams, Lawrence Hart, Ronnie Greer, Ron Turner, Michael Kerstetter, Saletta Holloway, Morris Haddox, Ginger Hausser, Adam Dread, Earl Campbell, Feller Brown, Brenda Gilmore, Bettye Balthrop, James Dillard, Amanda McClendon, Edward Whitmore, Lawrence Hall Jr., Bob Bogen, John Summers, Jim Shulman, Ron Nollner, Michelle Arriola, Janis Sontany, Leo Waters, Carolyn Baldwin Tucker, Phil Ponder, David Briley, Tony Derryberry, Bruce Stanley, J.B. Loring


Referred to: Rules & Confirmations Committee
Introduced: May 6, 2003
Adopted: May 6, 2003
Approved: May 7, 2003
By: Bill Purcell