A resolution recognizing and commending the Nashville Storm semi-pro men's football team on their successful 2004 season.

WHEREAS, the Nashville Storm are a 4th year professional outdoor men's minor league football team that plays 11-man, NFL rules football, with player experience ranging from high school to professional level; and

WHEREAS, this successful professional sport team has been playing at McGavock High School stadium and are members of the North American Football League [NAFL] headquartered in New York; and

WHEREAS, led by Head Coach Patrick Abernathy, and supporting coaches Shawn Malone, Charles Hunter, Trondrick Davis, and Mike Vaughn the team went on to compile twelve (12) wins and two (2) losses on their way to winning their division (Tennessee Valley Division), and securing the region (Southeast Region) championship and one victory away from the final championship. The regular season ended with nine (9) wins and one (1) loss; and

WHEREAS, this team played with confidence, competitive spirit, and true heart, resulting in an exciting and entertaining season for all its fans; having such players as Lamar Carter #6, a former TSU athlete who broke Richard Dent's long standing sack record. Danny Roberson #90, also a former TSU Defensive Lineman of the Year, Nathaniel Claybrooks #44, an All-American at MTSU played on the first Nashville Kats arena football team. Corey Sullivan #80, a former TSU All-American is the leader of our wide receiver corp. Jonathan Carter #27, our premiere running back voted MVP for the 2004 season; and

WHEREAS, the phenomenal performance of the team as it took care of business this season is a clear indication of the outstanding athletic ability, the dedication and hard work, and the unity of purpose and spirit of each member of the team; and

WHEREAS, the Nashville Storm organization has been most supportive of the Nashville community, and for this 2005 season have pledged funds in support of the charitable Charles Davis Foundation as well as the United Cerebral Palsy of Middle Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that the Metropolitan Council recognizes the Nashville Storm for their unforgettable season of football and their work on and off the field of play, and wish them continued success.


Section 1. The Metropolitan Council hereby goes on record as recognizing and commending the Nashville Storm semi-pro men's football team on their successful 2004 season.

Section 2. The Metropolitan Council Office is directed to prepare a copy of this Resolution to be presented to Patrick Abernathy, President/Co-Owner/Head Coach of the Nashville Storm on behalf of the team.

Section 3. This Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.

Sponsored by: Vivian Wilhoite


Referred: Rules & Confirmations Committee 
Introduced: May 3, 2005
Adopted: May 3, 2005
Approved: May 4, 2005