A resolution establishing an emergency preparedness task force to examine the preparedness of Nashville and Davidson County to respond to emergencies and communicate information to the public.

WHEREAS, over the past decade, Nashville has experienced various weather and non-weather related events such as the ice storm of 1994, the tornado of April 1998, and a gas line rupture in January 2005, all of which caused a disruption in utility service and threatened the health, safety, and welfare of the citizens; and

WHEREAS, the need to accurately and adequately communicate information to citizens as to how best to handle these types of emergencies is vital in the interest of public safety; and

WHEREAS, the tragic terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, raised the awareness among governments at the federal, state, and local level about the importance of emergency preparedness; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that a task force be created to prepare a comprehensive report regarding the preparedness of Nashville to deal with various emergencies and communicate with the citizens affected by the emergency.


Section 1. The Metropolitan County Council hereby establishes a task force to examine the preparedness of Nashville and Davidson County to respond to emergencies and communicate information to the public, and to prepare and present a comprehensive report to the Metropolitan Council not later than ninety (90) days from convening outlining suggestions for the improvement of emergency preparedness and communication with citizens in the event of an emergency.

Section 2. The task force should consist of not more than twenty-three (23) members to be chaired by the Chair of the Council Public Safety Committee. The members of the task force shall be selected by the Chair of the Public Safety Committee and should include a representative from the following:
1. Metropolitan Nashville Police Department
2. Nashville Fire Department
3. Metropolitan Emergency Communications
4. Metropolitan Hospital Authority
5. Mayor's Office of Emergency Management
6. Tennessee Emergency Management Agency
7. Tennessee Department of Transportation
8. Metropolitan Department of Public Works
9. Nashville Electric Service
10. Nashville Gas Company
11. Metropolitan Department of Water and Sewerage Services
12. Harpeth Valley Utility District
13. Madison Suburban Utility District
14. Old Hickory Utility District
15. Metropolitan Nashville Airport Authority
16. American Red Cross
17. U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
18. Metropolitan Department of Information Technology Services
19. Community Access Television Corporation
20. The Chair, or member designated by the Chair from the Council Public Works Committee, the Transportation and Aviation Committee, and the Health, Hospitals & Social Services Committee.

Section 3. The task force shall convene within thirty (30) days from the adoption of this Resolution.

Section 4. The task force should meet at such times and places as it may determine and shall give notice of all meetings to the public with the assistance of the Metropolitan Clerk.

Section 5. This Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.

Sponsored by: Charlie Tygard, Eric Crafton


Referred: Public Safety Committee 
Introduced: August 16, 2005
Adopted: August 16, 2005
Returned Unsigned by the Mayor: August 18, 2005