A resolution recognizing and honoring the Hillsboro High School Football Team on their Class 4A State Runner-up Title.

WHEREAS, winning football and the Hillsboro High School team have become almost synonymous over the last several years; and

WHEREAS, under the direction of new coach Scott Blade, and his able assistants Kelly Myers, Kevin Komisar, John Moore, Alvin Fite, LeBrian McGill, and Darrell Fisher, the Hillsboro High School football team once again this past season showed the toughness and tenacity that comes with a team determined to succeed; and

WHEREAS, led by a host of strong leaders, the Hillsboro High School Burros marched through the regular season unbeaten and untied; and

WHEREAS, the team continued to defeat opponents as it made its way back to the State Championship Game in the Class 4A Division; and

WHEREAS, although the Championship Game did not turn out the way that they hoped, the team showed remarkable character and heart in creating for itself one incredible season; and

WHEREAS, the team was led by the following players: Garner Lee, Tracy Parker, Eric Gordon, Chaz Braden, Jaques Seward, Evan Langster, David Solomon, Corey Jorden, Dyvonte Allen, Keith Perry, Mike Brown, Demetrous Garrett, Larry Shelton, Cameron Cartwright, Matt Arent, Josh Shelton, L.V. Jefferys, DeAndre Davis, Chris Saunders, Marcuz Southall, Clayvon Scott, Dominick Smith, James Heine, David Saunders, Trey Long, Marcus Short, George Pulley, Scott Davis, Ricardo Bryant, Budd Coley, Alex Roberson, Jorden Thompson, Christian Heyne, Bobby Brooks, Marqueze Sawyers, Steven Lammers, Rodney Irvin, Ronnie Rutledge, Nick Montgomery, Justin Hill, Richie White, J.P. Washington, John Donaldson, Jason Cathey, Jeremy Babbs, Charlton Pence, Ayub Karwandyar, Hendrix Brakefield, Johnnie Hawkins, Jacob Noe, Max Slifka, Joe Sullivan, Marcus Turner, and Andre Westmoreland; and

WHEREAS, it is the policy of the Metropolitan Council to recognize the efforts and the achievements of our Nashville citizens;


Section 1. That the Metropolitan County Council goes on record as congratulating the Hillsboro High School football team for their outstanding 2006 season.

Section 2. The Metropolitan Council Office is directed to prepare a copy of this resolution to be presented to the Hillsboro High School football team.

Section 3. That this Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of the Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.

Sponsored by: Jim Shulman


Referred: Rules & Confirmations Committee 
Introduced: March 6, 2007
Adopted: March 6, 2007
Approved: March 9, 2007