A resolution recognizing and congratulating the members of the 2006-07 Nashville Youth Leadership program.

WHEREAS, the youth in our City continue to be one of the most vital resources that we, as members of the Council, must learn from and encourage in anyway possible; and

WHEREAS, the Oasis Center has a long history of providing our City's young people with great opportunities and assistance; and

WHEREAS, one of the great programs that the organization operates is known as Nashville Youth Leadership; and

WHEREAS, the purpose of NYL is to allow youth to learn and practice foundational leadership skills; to develop a deeper understanding of Nashville and its societal issues; to develop a deeper understanding of Nashville's leadership structure and processes; and to begin to perceive themselves as leaders; and

WHEREAS, the goal of Nashville Youth Leadership is to place at least 75% of the class members in citywide leadership positions; and

WHEREAS, many of the leaders tomorrow are serving on the NYL Board today; and

WHEREAS, the following students are serving on NYL this year are:

Lily Alberts University School
Abdikadir Ali Stratford
Brittain Ayres Hume-Fogg
Phoebe Carver Harpeth Hall
Harrison Cummings Martin Luther King
Caroline Davidson Father Ryan
Rachel Davis Hume-Fogg
Julia Findley Overton
Frances Fisher Ensworth
Harper Ganick Martin Luther King
Thomas Hassell Father Ryan
Ethan Hassenfeld University School
William Kemper Stratford
Brittany McShand McGavock
Allen Miller Montgomery Bell Academy
Joo Eun Park Harpeth Hall
Noel Price Harpeth Hall
Eliana Ramage Hillsboro
Khiry Ridley East Literature Magnet
Connor Shope Montgomery Bell Academy
Lucinda Short East Literature Magnet
Ashley Taylor Whites Creek
Andrea Wheatley St. Cecilia
Jasmine Wilson East Literature Magnet
Mihret Woldesemaet Hillsboro
Andrea Yancey Hillsboro

WHEREAS, it is the policy of the Council to recognize and commend the service and the work of citizens in the Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County, Tennessee.


Section 1. That the Metropolitan County Council goes on record as congratulating the members of the 2006-07 Nashville Youth Leadership program.

Section 2. The Metropolitan Council Office is directed to prepare a copy of this resolution to be presented to the members of the Nashville Youth Leadership program.

Section 3. That this Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of the Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.

Sponsored by: Jim Shulman


Referred: Rules & Confirmations Committee 
Introduced: March 6, 2007
Adopted: March 6, 2007
Approved: March 9, 2007