A resolution recognizing and congratulating Head Coach Tim Corbin and the 2007 Vanderbilt University “Commodores” Men’s Baseball Team.

WHEREAS, the Vanderbilt University “Commodores” Men’s Baseball Team achieved an extraordinary level of success during the 2007 season, from finishing the season with the best record in school history at 54-13, to making their sixth NCAA tournament appearance, to becoming the program’s first-ever regular season Southeastern Conference champion and winning the SEC tournament title, which earned the team the right to host an NCAA regional for the first time in the program's history.  They were on top of the national rankings for 14 of the last 15 weeks heading into NCAA play; and

WHEREAS, the Commodores won five straight games in the SEC Tournament after losing to in-state rival Tennessee, 6-4 and defeated Arkansas in the championship game to capture its first Southeastern Conference tournament title and advance to the NCAA Regional; and

WHEREAS, joining the 2007 SEC Tournament’s Most Valuable Player Pedro Alvarez on the All-Tournament  team were Shea Robin, Ryan Flaherty and Dominic de la Osa; and

WHEREAS, the Commodores were awarded the nation’s No. 1 overall seed in the NCAA Tournament; and

WHEREAS, Vanderbilt junior left-hander David Price was named Louisville Slugger/Collegiate Baseball's co-National Player of the Year, selected SEC pitcher of the year and semifinalist for the Golden Spikes and Roger Clemens Awards, and was named a first-team All-American as where teammates Dominic de la Osa and Casey Weathers, who is a finalist for the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year Award, Pedro Alvarez earned second-team All-American honors and Mike Minor was named a Freshman All-American; and

WHEREAS, the Vanderbilt “Commodores” hosted Michigan, Memphis and Austin Peay in an NCAA regional at Hawkins Field; in the first round the Vanderbilt “Commodores” defeated Austin Peay advancing to play Michigan in the best out of three; despite losing the first game the “Commodores” avenged an earlier loss in game two before being knocked out of the NCAA Regional in the third and decisive game with a 10-inning loss that ended the “Commodores” season; and

WHEREAS Vanderbilt’s David Price, the best pitcher in the nation, was the No. 1 pick overall by the Tampa Bay Devil Rays in the Major League Baseball draft; the Colorado Rockies selected pitcher Casey Weathers as the No. 8 pick overall and six other Commodore players were picked in the Major League Draft including Dominic de la Osa, Cody Crowell, Ty Davis, Tyler Rhoden, Jonathan White and Stephen Shao; and

WHEREAS, Ryan Flaherty ended the season with a 35 game hitting streak; the second longest streak in SEC history (1 behind Andy Phillips) and 104 hits (3rd most hits in a season in school history; Pedro Alvarez hit his 40th career home run and ended the season with 105 hits (2nd most in school history); David Price had his first loss of the season (11-1); recorded his 194th strikeout of the year (school record); and gave up his third homerun of the season (2nd in the regional’s); and

WHEREAS, this superb season would not have been possible without the significant contributions of, Seniors Cater Hawkins, Matt Meingasner, Stephen Shao, and Casey Weathers, Juniors Cameron Betourne, Adam Cronk, Cody Crowell, Ryan Davis, Ty Davis, Dominic de la Osa, Alex Feinberg, Brad French, Parker Hanks, David Macias, David Price, Tyler Rhoden, Shea Robin, and Steven Schwartz, Sophomores Pedro Alvarez, Nick Christiani, Ryan Flaherty, Brett Jacobson, Kurt Lipton, Jonathan White, and Josh Zeid, and Freshmen Russell Brewer, Caleb Cotham, Jason Cunningham, Andrew Giobbi, Richie Goodenow, Brian Harris, Alex Hillard, Mark Lamm, Steven Liddle, Mike Minor, Jay Moreland, Matt Shao, and Jordan Wormsley, these exemplary young men have proven to be formidable competitors; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Tim Corbin laid the groundwork for this year’s championship team by sharing with these young men his substantial knowledge of baseball, his five years of coaching and athletic experience, and his passion both for the sport of baseball and for excellence in every endeavor; and

WHEREAS, in addition to the able leadership of Head Coach Corbin, the Vanderbilt University Men’s Baseball Staff includes Assistant Coaches Erik Bakich and Derek Johnson, Volunteer Assistant Coach Blake Allen and Director of Baseball Operations Mike Calitri; and

WHEREAS, the baseball players at Vanderbilt University epitomize all that is good in today’s student-athlete, as they have achieved a premier level of success in competition and academics.  Their perseverance, determination, work ethic, and talent have made not only a championship baseball season, but bodes well for their success in the future, and it is indeed appropriate to honor the Vanderbilt University “Commodores” Men’s Baseball Team and coaches at this time; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that the Metropolitan Council recognizes and applaud the Vanderbilt Men’s Baseball Team for their extraordinary achievements both on and off the baseball field while setting an example for the youth of America.


Section 1.  The Metropolitan Council hereby goes on record as recognizing and congratulating Head Coach Tim Corbin and the 2007 Vanderbilt University “Commodores” Men’s Baseball Team.

Section 2.  The Metropolitan Council Office is directed to prepare a copy of this Resolution to be presented to Head Coach Tim Corbin on behalf of the 2007 Vanderbilt University “Commodores” Men’s Baseball Team.

Section 3.  This Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.

Sponsored by: Ludye Wallace, Rip Ryman, Brenda Gilmore, Parker Toler, Adam Dread, Walter Hunt, Jim Forkum, Billy Walls, J. B. Loring


Referred: Rules & Confirmations Committee 
Introduced: July 3, 2007
Adopted: July 3, 2007
Approved: July 5, 2007