A resolution recognizing Mayor Karl Dean on receiving a National Conservation Award.

WHEREAS, Mayor Karl Dean was recognized for outstanding achievement in greenways and open space preservation at the 22nd annual Kodak American Greenways Awards; and

WHEREAS, this award was established in 1989 by Eastman Kodak Company, National Geographic Society and The Conservation Fund, the Kodak American Greenways Program seeks to honor leading individuals, organizations and corporations whose ingenuity and creativity have made a significant contribution to creating a national network of open space, trails and greenways; and

WHEREAS, in 2009 Mayor Dean appointed the Mayor’s Green Ribbon Committee on Environmental Sustainability and is a leader of green innovation and a call for a comprehensive open space plan, the Mayor engaged a partner, the Land Trust of Tennessee, and set about developing a plan; and

WHEREAS, Mayor Dean issued the Nashville Open Space Plan, setting out a vision of how residents and visitors from urban, suburban and rural zones can be better linked to their natural and cultural assets. Greenway linkages are key elements to improving public safety, encouraging physical activity, and promoting a high quality of life and Mayor Dean moved quickly from planning vision to action as he promptly made a key acquisition of the Cornelia Fort Airport site; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that the Metropolitan Council recognizes Mayor Karl Dean on being selected as one of the recipients of the 2011 Kodak American Greenways Award and who has embarked upon an ambitious and comprehensive open space plan that will better connect residents from city, suburb and rural areas to their natural and cultural assets.


Section 1. The Metropolitan Council hereby goes on record as recognizing Mayor Karl Dean on receiving a National Conservation Award

Section 2. The Metropolitan Council Office is directed to prepare a copy of this Resolution to be presented to Mayor Karl Dean.

Section 3. This Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.

Sponsored by: Walter Hunt, Darren Jernigan, Buddy Baker, Ronnie Steine, Steve Glover, Jason Potts, Sandra Moore, Bill Pridemore, Fabian Bedne, Tony Tenpenny, Duane Dominy, Tim Garrett, Doug Pardue, Peter Westerholm, Charlie Tygard, Phil Claiborne, Lonnell Matthews, Chris Harmon, Carter Todd, Edith Taylor Langster, Jerry Maynard, Frank Harrison, Burkley Allen, Josh Stites, Scott Davis, Emily Evans, Karen Bennett, Karen Johnson, Jason Holleman, Robert Duvall, Brady Banks, Anthony Davis, Jacobia Dowell, Davette Blalock, Erica Gilmore, Sheri Weiner, Sean McGuire, Bruce Stanley, Bo Mitchell, Megan Barry


Referred to: Rules & Confirmations Committee
Introduced: November 1, 2011
Adopted: November 1, 2011
Returned Unsigned by Mayor: November 2, 2011