A resolution recognizing the 2012 UNA Bears BB Football Team.

WHEREAS, the UNA Bears BB Football Team is compiled of nine and ten year olds based out of the UNA Recreation Center and are members of the Mid-State Youth Football League; and

WHEREAS, these fine young athletes are to be commended for their performance and sportsmanship as they completed a successful season of football competition in posting an impressive record of 10 wins and 1 loss by striving to improve every day and working as a team; and

WHEREAS, the UNA Bears BB Football Team is to be commended for their efforts and performance during the season and their efforts recognized at the 2012 Mid State Youth Football Champions; and

WHEREAS, the UNA Bears defeated the Bowling Green Panthers 33-0 at Pope John Paul High School to win their Mid-State Youth Football Championship; and

WHEREAS, members of this remarkable team are: Marvin Banks, Cory Beal, Xayvion Bean, Justin Brantley, Trey Brown, Tyler Crawley, Isaiah Davis, Harold Douglas, Dalton Formby, Benjamin Harvell, Tahj Jackson, Marcellous Lanier, Larry Lockett, Latrell Marshall, Keith McBroom, KeVon McCloud, Xayvion Milam, Christopher Moore, Zion Nixon, David Nkrumah, Daniel O’Hara, Darrow Parrish, Caven Phinisee, Kenneth Reed, Logan Rhett, Terrell Rice, Jamari Sowell, Bradley Watts and Jaden White whose dedication, determination and performance made possible a championship season; and

WHEREAS, the team was led by Head Coach Steve Leonard and Assistant Coaches, Bruce Day, Casey Campbell, Ricky Lowe and Mike McPherson who are to be commended for their commitment in providing leadership and direction; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that the Metropolitan Council recognizes not only the UNA Bears BB football team and coaches on their outstanding 2012 season, but congratulations also to the coaches, players and staff of the following UNA teams: Double AA and Triple AAA, Triple BBB, Triple CCC, CC-1 and the Double Pee Wee’s for their Championship seasons.


Section 1. The Metropolitan Council hereby goes on record as recognizing the 2012 UNA Bears BB Football Team.

Section 2. The Metropolitan Council Office is directed to prepare a copy of this Resolution to be presented to Head Coach Steve Leonard, the assistant coaches and the players of the UNA Bears BB Football Team.

Section 3. This Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.

Sponsored by: Karen Johnson


Referred to: Rules & Confirmations Committee
Introduced: January 8, 2013
Adopted: January 8, 2013
Approved: January 9, 2013
By: mayor's signature