A resolution recognizing the finalists of the seventh annual Nashville Beautiful art contest.

WHEREAS, it is a community goal to increase environmental participation and progress to help Nashville become one of the leading green cities in the Southeastern United States; and

WHEREAS, educating and involving young generations of Nashvillians is a key to achieving long-term environmental progress; and

WHEREAS, For the past six years, Red River Service Corporation has conducted an annual environmental education program that focuses on the arts to engage thousands of Metro Nashville Public Schools third and fourth grade students, enlivening their creative spirits and nurturing environmental awareness; and

WHEREAS, Metro Public Works, Metro Beautification & Environment Commission, Metro Nashville Public Schools, Red River Service Corporation, Nashville Arts Coalition and Metropolitan Arts Commission are partners in this ongoing education program; and

WHEREAS, in its seventh year, the art contest had entries from 36 schools; and

WHEREAS, the following students were named as grand prize winners, earning both funds for their schools’ art departments and their winning art on display on Red River household waste collection trucks for the nine months:

Co-Grand Prize Winner – Kelly Castlen, 3rd grade, Ruby Major Elementary
Co-Grand Prize Winner – Marvin Guardado, 3rd grade, Una Elementary
Third Place – Edie McClure, 4th grade, Dan Mills Elementary
Red River Award of Distinction – Emilia Toth, 4th grade, Shayne Elementary
WHEREAS, The following students were named as finalists from the contest and will have their art on display on Red River household waste collection trucks for the nine months:
Kenneth Jiang, 3rd grade, and Ninah Mertens, 4th grade at Andrew Jackson Elementary
Devin Storey, 3rd grade, and Katie Shanks, 4th grade at A.Z. Kelley Elementary
Sophie Maria Dunn, 3rd grade and Tamara Huey, 4th grade at Bellshire Elementary
TereNesha Johnson and Damia Boyd, 3rd grade at Buena Vista Elementary
Tyreal Catlett, 3rd grade, and Christopher Jones, 4th grade at Caldwell Elementary
Breanna Doss, 3rd grade, and Andrea Florence, 4th grade at Cane Ridge Elementary
Cheyenne Victoria Kitchen, 4th grade, and Olivia Logan, 3rd grade at Chadwell Elementary
Kaylee Bae, 3rd grade, and Chance Nduwifura, 4th grade at Charlotte Park Elementary
LaDanian Rucker, 3rd grade, and Eliyah Cartwright, 4th grade at Cumberland Elementary
Lindsey Goode, 4th grade at Dan Mills Elementary
Diane Barba and Quinn Vongviengkham, 3rd grade at Dodson Elementary
Sierra Ralph, 3rd grade, and Jaynada Wallace, 4th grade at DuPont Elementary
Sofia Miller, 3rd grade, and Eva Albert-Adams, 4th grade at Glendale Elementary
Morgan McGaffin, 4th grade, and Molly Wahlfeld, 3rd grade at Harpeth Valley Elementary
Huy Hgugun, 3rd grade, and Ruben Ball, 4th grade at Hattie Cotton Elementary
Su San N Win, 3rd grade, and Freddie Vargas-Coria, 4th grade at Haywood Elementary
Mahalah Cripe and Luva Hatcher, 3rd grade at Hermitage Elementary
Kennedy Treutel and Alyssa Sutherland, 4th grade at Hickman Elementary
Cashaun Patton, 4th grade, and Troy Ray, 3rd grade at Inglewood Elementary
Abigail Joseph and Hussein Abbas, 4th grade at J. E. Moss Elementary
McKenzie Hunter, 4th grade, and Samantha Beville, 3rd grade at Joelton Elementary
Megan Hannon and Farran Stone, 4th grade at Julia Green Elementary
Ruairi Downs and Oscar Field, 4th grade at Lockeland Elementary
Evan Ragan, 4th grade, and Damaris Menjivar Romero, 3rd grade at McGavock Elementary
Audriana Jones, 3rd grade, and Morgan Waugh, 4th grade at Mt. View Elementary
Lathaniel Green and Derryon Lyons, 4th grade at Napier Elementary
Latroy Robertson and Ariana Torres, 4th grade at Robert E. Lillard Elementary
Andrew Davidson, 3rd grade at Ruby Major Elementary
Genesoo Shin, 4th grade at Shayne Elementary
Jennifer Torres and Melanie Tramill, 4th grade at Stratton Elementary
Jaymes Greene, 4th grade, and Ruby Lizarraga, 3rd grade at Sylvan Park Elementary
Latisha Parris and Mario Villa Russell, 3rd grade at Tom Joy Elementary
Erika Lopez and Genesis Reyes, 4th grade at Tusculum Elementary
Bryce Enich, 4th grade at Una Elementary
Mieyauna Guerrier, 4th grade, and Robert Browning, 3rd grade at Warner Elementary

WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that the Metropolitan Council recognize these talented young artists for their entries into the “Nashville Beautiful” art contest and their contribution to the citywide campaign to promote recycling and city beautification.


Section 1. The Metropolitan Council hereby goes on record as recognizing the finalists of the seventh annual Nashville Beautiful art contest.

Section 2. The Metropolitan Council Office is directed to prepare a copy of this Resolution to be presented to each student finalist.

Section 3. This Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.

Sponsored by: Jason Potts, Sandra Moore, Frank Harrison, Anthony Davis, Karen Johnson, Megan Barry, Tim Garrett, Charlie Tygard, Steve Glover, Brady Banks, Fabian Bedne, Walter Hunt, Buddy Baker, Chris Harmon, Ronnie Stein, Scott Davis, Phil Claiborne, Doug Pardue, Duane Dominy, Bill Pridemore, Karen Bennett, Josh Stites, Robert Duvall, Emily Evans, Burkley Allen, Tony Tenpenny, Jacobia Dowell, Jason Holleman, Carter Todd, Erica Gilmore, Lonnell Matthews, Jerry Maynard, Darren Jernigan, Edith Taylor Langster, Peter Westerholm, Sean McGuire, Bo Mitchell, Sheri Weiner, Davette Blalock, Bruce Stanley


Referred to: Rules & Confirmations Committee
Introduced: May 7, 2013
Adopted: May 7, 2013
Approved: May 9, 2013
By: mayor's signature

Requests for ADA accommodation should be directed to Ana Escobar at 615/862-6770.