A resolution recognizing Sandra Renelle Darden-Taylor on the occasion of her retirement.

WHEREAS, on February 7, 2014, Sandra Renelle Darden-Taylor completed her remarkable and distinguished career in the Department of the Treasury-Internal Revenue Service with the Federal Government, after 27 years of exemplary public service as a public servant; and

WHERAS, Sandra is a graduate of Clarksville High School and upon graduating from Austin Peay State University she began her career in 1987 as a clerk with the Department of the Treasury-Internal Revenue Service; she steadily climbed the ladder as she excelled to Executive Secretary with the Taxpayer Advocate Division while becoming interested in being a Tax Examiner with the Examination Unit and was detailed in that area. After that, she became a Customer Service Representative with the Automated Collection Division; assisting taxpayer’s whose tax account was in collections. Then she went to the Wage and Investment-Accounts Management Division as a Customer Service Representative demonstrating the utmost professional, ability and integrity with assisting taxpayers with their tax issues. Yes, Mrs. Taylor was the distinctive voice of the 1-800-829-1040 telephone number and was asked many times, “Where’s My Refund”?; and

WHEREAS, she was an Acting Supervisory Contact Representative where she managed a team of 15 Customer Service Representatives with the Internal Revenue Service. During this time her team was honored with a Quality Customer Service award for the quarter. In ending her career her last position was a dedicated Lead Customer Service Representative to an outstanding team of dedicated employees; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Taylor received numerous Performance Awards, Quality Step Increase Awards, Manager Awards, Quality Grams, On-the Job Instructor for New Hires, Letters of Appreciation from taxpayers, the Galant award for recognition and achievement and Recognition of Loyal and Devoted Service Awards for 10, 15, 20 and 25 years of service; and

WHEREAS, with her retirement, Mrs. Taylor will now have the time and freedom to pursue her passions such as reading, gardening, participating in the Christmas toy drive and working more in the community without regards to calendars and clocks. She is a member of St. Ann Community Catholic Church; and

WHEREAS, she is deeply devoted to her family as a loving and supporting wife to her husband Wallace Harrison Taylor, Jr., a loving mother to daughter Kristen, a Law Student at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville, daughter of a wonderful mother Bobbie Lee Darden; sister to Rosalynd Greene and brother Robert Lloyd Darden, Jr., of Dallas, Texas and her loving mother-in-law Willa D. Taylor and helpful sister-in-law Council women Edith Taylor Langster and a host of other family members and friends; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that the Metropolitan Council recognizes Sandra Renelle Darden-Taylor for the great service she has given to the Department of the Treasury-Internal Revenue Service and wish her a happy and gratifying retirement and every continued success in her future endeavors.


Section 1. The Metropolitan Council hereby goes on record as recognizing Sandra Renelle Darden-Taylor on the occasion of her retirement.

Section 2. The Metropolitan Council Office is directed to prepare a copy of this Resolution to be presented to Sandra Renelle Darden-Taylor.

Section 3. This Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.

Sponsored by: Edith Taylor Langster, Jason Potts, Megan Barry, Buddy Baker, Tim Garrett, Jacobia Dowell, Sandra Moore, Chris Harmon, Lonnell Matthews, Karen Johnson, Karen Bennett, Tony Tenpenny, Walter Hunt, Jerry Maynard, Frank Harrison, Duane Dominy, Davette Blalock, Sheri Weiner, Bruce Stanley, Erica Gilmore, Robert Duvall, Doug Pardue, Emily Evans, Peter Westerholm, Ronnie Steine, Steve Glover, Charlie Tygard, Burkley Allen, Bo Mitchell, Carter Todd, Scott Davis, Anthony Davis, Josh Stites, Bill Pridemore, Jason Holleman, Phil Claiborne


Referred to: Rules & Confirmations Committee
Introduced: March 4, 2014
Adopted: March 4, 2014
Approved: March 5, 2014
By: mayor's signature

Requests for ADA accommodation should be directed to the Metropolitan Clerk at 615/862-6770.