A resolution to honor and congratulate Claude Humphrey upon his induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

WHEREAS, former professional football player Claude Humphrey embarked upon an illustrious playing career when he was drafted out of Tennessee State University in the first round of the 1968 National Football League Draft as the third overall choice by the Atlanta Falcons where he played 10 seasons before becoming a member of the Philadelphia Eagles for three seasons until his retirement; and

WHEREAS, Claude Humphrey, a revolutionary pass rushing defensive lineman, earned the esteemed honor of induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame and will be enshrined into the Hall of Fame on August 2, 2014 in Canton, Ohio as part of the official Class of 2014; and

WHEREAS, a talented football player, Claude Humphrey exhibited great persistence and an unwavering work ethic both on and off the field, qualities which earned him being named 1968 NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year, First-team All-Pro five times, Second-team All-Pro three times, All-NFC six times, and Second Team All-NFC in 1976. In addition Humphrey’s was named to the Pro Bowl six times over the span of his career; and

WHEREAS, highlights of his NFL career included, in 1980, as a designated pass rusher, he recorded a team high 14.5 sacks helping the Eagles become NFC Champions and earned a ticket to Super Bowl XV, 126.5 sacks, played in 171 games and had two safeties; and

WHEREAS, no stranger to awards and accolades, Claude Humphrey is recognized as a member of the Georgia Hall of Fame and the Tennessee Hall of Fame. His college (Tennessee State University) retired his number and inducted him into their Hall of Fame. His high school (Memphis Tennessee Lester) has also retired his jersey and is a member of his high school Hall of Fame, and is a member of the Atlanta Falcons Ring of Honor; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that the Metropolitan Council hereby command and congratulate Claude Humphrey on his rightful induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame and extend our best wishes for his success in his future endeavors.


Section 1. The Metropolitan Council hereby goes on record to honor and congratulate Claude Humphrey upon his induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Section 2. The Metropolitan Council Office is directed to prepare a copy of this Resolution to be presented to Claude Humphrey, Class of 2014 inductee into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Section 3. This Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.

Sponsored by: Karen Johnson, Walter Hunt, Frank Harrison, Duane Dominy, Charlie Tygard, Fabian Bedne, Jacobia Dowell, Burkley Allen, Ronnie Steine, Edith Taylor Langster, Sandra Moore, Megan Barry, Karen Bennett, Peter Westerholm, Brady Banks, Phil Claiborne, Tony Tenpenny, Erica Gilmore, Chris Harmon, Sean McGuire, Sheri Weiner, Jerry Maynard, Lonnell Matthews, Bill Pridemore, Anthony Davis, sca, Steve Glover, Josh Stites, Bruce Stanley, Davette Blalock, Jason Holleman, Emily Evans


Referred to: Rules & Confirmations Committee
Introduced: June 17, 2014
Adopted: June 17, 2014
Approved: June 18, 2014
By: mayor's signature

Requests for ADA accommodation should be directed to the Metropolitan Clerk at 615/862-6770.