A resolution recognizing Tuesday, February 24, 2015 as World Spay Day.

WHEREAS, World Spay Day is held annually in February to shine a spotlight on the benefits of spaying or neutering and is a way to save the lives of companion animals, community (stray or feral) cats, and street dogs. When you spay/neuter your pet, you make your pet healthier and help solve the tragic problem of pet overpopulation; and

WHEREAS, pets provide companionship to 68% of U.S. households; and

WHEREAS, nearly 3 million healthy and adoptable cats and dogs are put down in animal shelters each year due to a lack of critical resources and public awareness; and

WHEREAS, nearly 90% of pets living in poverty, and 98% of community (feral and stray) cats are unaltered; and

WHEREAS, spaying and neutering has been shown to dramatically reduce the number of animals who are put down in animal shelters; and

WHEREAS, programs exist to assist with the cost of spaying or neutering pets living in poverty and community cats; and

WHEREAS, veterinarians, national and local animal protection organizations, and private citizens have joined together again to advocate the spaying or neutering of pets and community cats on World Spay Day 2015; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that the Metropolitan Council hereby recognizes February 24, 2015 as World Spay Day and encourage the citizens of Nashville to observe the day by having their own pets spayed or neutered or by sponsoring the spaying or neutering of another person’s cat or dog.


Section 1. The Metropolitan Council hereby goes on record as recognizing Tuesday, February 24, 2015 as World Spay Day.

Section 2. The Metropolitan Council Office is directed to prepare a copy of this Resolution to be presented to Natalie Corwin, President and CEO of Pet Community Center on behalf of her staff.

Section 3. This Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.

Sponsored by: Karen Bennett, Megan Barry, Anthony Davis, Peter Westerholm, Scott Davis, Sheri Weiner, Davette Blalock, Brady Banks, Tim Garrett, Ronnie Steine, Charlie Tygard, Bill Pridemore, Doug Pardue, Larry Hagar, Walter Hunt, Frank Harrison, Lonnell Matthews, Jerry Maynard, Tony Tenpenny, Sandra Moore, Burkley Allen, Sean McGuire, Erica Gilmore, Carter Todd, Robert Duvall, Fabian Bedne, Jason Potts, Karen Johnson, Jacobia Dowell, Bo Mitchell, Emily Evans, Buddy Baker, Duane Dominy, Edith Taylor Langster, Steve Glover, Josh Stites, Bruce Stanley, Phil Claiborne, Chris Harmon


Referred to: Rules & Confirmations Committee
Introduced: January 20, 2015
Adopted: January 20, 2015
Approved: January 27, 2015
By: mayor's signature

Requests for ADA accommodation should be directed to the Metropolitan Clerk at 615/862-6770.