A resolution increasing the size of the Board of Trustees of the Hospital Authority of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County.

WHEREAS, on March 2, 1999, the Council of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County (the “Council”) adopted Substitute Resolution No. R99-1410 authorizing the establishment of the Hospital Authority of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County, Corporation (the "Hospital Authority"); and,

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated Section 7-57-203 authorizes the creating municipality to establish the number of members of the board of trustees (the "Board") of said Hospital Authority, their method of nomination and appointment, their tenure of service, and such other qualifications as the Council may desire to impose; and,

WHEREAS, also on March 2, 1999, the Council adopted Resolution No. R99-1412 establishing a Board of seven (7) members, and appointing the initial members of the Board; and,

WHEREAS, the Council has determined that increasing the number of Board members to eleven (11) will promote diversity and help ensure the membership on the Board is reflective of the citizens of Nashville and Davidson County.


Section 1. Resolution No. R99-1412 is hereby amended by adding the following new Section 2 and renumbering the remaining Sections accordingly:

“Section 2. From and after August 1, 2016, the Board shall be composed of eleven (11) members. Three (3) members shall be doctors of medicine certified for practice as such by the State Board of Medical Examiners and licensed by the State Licensing Board for the Healing Arts, and each of whom shall have had not less than five (5) years’ experience in the active practice of his or her profession. One (1) of said doctors of medicine shall also have had special training, practice, and experience in the field of psychiatric medicine. One (1) member shall be a registered nurse. The seven (7) remaining members of the Board shall be chosen without reference to occupation or profession. Members of the Board shall serve without compensation. Members of the Board shall be appointed by the mayor and confirmed by a majority of the whole membership of the Council. They shall serve terms of five (5) years each, provided, however, that the initial members appointed to the four new Board positions created pursuant to this resolution, as amended, shall be appointed for staggered initial terms of two (2), three (3), four (4), and five (5) years, respectively. The members of the Board serving as of August 1, 2016, shall continue to serve in such capacity until the expiration of their respective terms as established at the time of their appointment. Any vacancy other than by expiration of term shall be filled for the unexpired term in the manner provided herein.”

Section 2. This Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.

Sponsored by: Erica Gilmore, Sheri Weiner, Bob Mendes


Referred to: Health, Hospitals and Social Services Committee
Rules and Confirmations Committee
Introduced: July 19, 2016
Adopted: July 19, 2016
Approved: July 20, 2016
By: Mayor's signature

Requests for ADA accommodation should be directed to the Metropolitan Clerk at 615/862-6770.