A resolution honoring American astrophysicist and science communicator Dr. Neil deGrasse Tyson and his advocacy for environmental science upon his arrival to Nashville, Tennessee on June 14, 2017.

WHEREAS, Dr. Neil deGrasse Tyson, an American astrophysicist and science communicator, is appearing at the Tennessee Performing Arts Center on June 14th, 2017; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Neil deGrasse Tyson received a bachelor's degree in physics at Harvard University, a master's degree in astronomy at the University of Texas at Austin, and both master’s and doctoral degrees in astrophysics at Columbia University; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Neil deGrasse Tyson is currently serving as director of the Hayden Planetarium at New York's Natural History Museum; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Neil deGrasse Tyson was appointed in 2001 by then-U.S. President George W. Bush to be a member of the Commission on the Future of the United States Aerospace Industry, and in 2004 Dr. Tyson served on the President’s Commission on Implementation of United States Space Exploration Policy, also known as the “Moon, Mars, and Beyond” commission; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Neil DeGrasse Tyson is the recipient of eighteen honorary doctorates and the NASA Distinguished Public Service Medal, the highest award given by NASA to a non-government citizen. The International Astronomical Union honored Dr. Tyson by naming an asteroid after him; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Neil deGrasse Tyson has worked to break down barriers between scientists and the general public. Dr. Tyson has written several books for the general public, served as the host of PBS's NOVA ScienceNow documentary series from 2006 to 2011, and in 2014 hosted and was the executive editor of the television series COSMOS: A Space-Time Odyssey. Dr. Tyson currently hosts his own podcast StarTalk Radio; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Neil deGrasse Tyson has advocated against proposed budget cuts to government agencies that support health, scientific education, and climate change research, including the National Institutes of Health and the Environmental Protection Agency; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that the Metropolitan Council recognize Dr. Neil deGrasse Tyson’s life of work to improve the nation's scientific literacy and his continued advocacy for environmental science.


Section 1. The Metropolitan Council hereby goes on record as honoring American astrophysicist and science communicator Dr. Neil deGrasse Tyson and his advocacy for environmental science.

Section 2. The Metropolitan Council Office is directed to submit a copy of this Resolution to Dr. Neil deGrasse Tyson.

Section 3. This Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.

Sponsored by: Fabian Bedne, Bob Mendes, Dave Rosenberg, Jeff Syracuse, Robert Swope, Anthony Davis, Kathleen Murphy, Sharon Hurt, Scott Davis, Mina Johnson, Erica Gilmore, Nick Leonardo, Sheri Weiner, Brett Withers, Russ Pulley, Angie Henderson, Tanaka Vercher, Larry Hagar, Karen Johnson, Burkley Allen


Referred to: Rules, Confirmations, and Public Elections Committee
Introduced: June 6, 2017
Adopted: June 6, 2017
Returned unsigned by the Mayor: June 7, 2017

Requests for ADA accommodation should be directed to the Metropolitan Clerk at 615/862-6770.