A resolution recognizing and congratulating Nashville Predators’ Head Coach Peter Laviolette, the 2016-2017 Nashville Predators Ice Hockey Team, and the entire ice hockey staff.

WHEREAS, the Nashville Predators ice hockey team was created in Nashville in 1998, bringing professional ice hockey to Nashville for the first time; and

WHEREAS, the team’s popularity and influence on the city’s cultural life has grown exponentially since those early, and at times uncertain, years; and

WHEREAS, the Predators have contributed significantly to the growth of Nashville, through both their playing on the ice and their influence on the growth of youth hockey through their many programs, including G.O.A.L!, Kids Club, Glow-in-the-Dark Open Skate at Bridgestone Arena, Nashville Jr. Predators, Street Pride, Hockey Rules, Predators Cup, Coach’s Corner, Taking Hockey to the Streets, and their support of Nashville’s two new regional ice centers; and

WHEREAS, the Predators achieved an extraordinary level of success in their 2016-2017 season with a winning record of 41-29-12; and winning the Western Conference Championship for the first time in their history; and

WHEREAS, the team went on to play valiantly in the Stanley Cup Finals, with the full support of the citizens of Nashville, giving the city a common cause to rally around and celebrate, winning two stunning games on their home ice; and

WHEREAS, this superb season would not have been possible without the skillful coaching of Head Coach Peter Laviolette, Assistant Coach Kevin McCarthy, Assistant Coach Phil Housley, Goaltending Coach Ben Vanderklok, and the entire hockey operations staff, and the masterful skating, shooting, and defending of the team’s talented players, including Captain Mike Fisher, Alternate Captain Ryan Ellis, Alternate Captain Roman Josi, Alternate Captain James Neal, Pontus Aberg, Viktor Arvidsson, Cody Bass, Anthony Bitetto, Reid Boucher, Matt Carle, Alexandre Carrier, Mattias Ekholm, Kevin Fiala, Vernon Fiddler, Filip Forsberg, Frederick Gaudreau, Petter Granberg, Derek Grant, Brad Hunt, Matt Irwin, Calle Jarnkrok, Ryan Johansen, Vladislav Kamenev, Mike Liambas, Marek Mazanec, Cody McLeod, Adam Pardy, P.A. Parenteau, Mike Ribeiro, Pekka Rinne, Miikka Salomaki, Juuse Saros, Colton Sissons, Craig Smith, Trevor Smith, P.K. Subban, Austin Watson, Yannick Weber, Colin Wilson, and Harry Zolnierczyk; and

WHEREAS, the Predators’ victorious season has had an enormous impact on the city in multiple realms, including community pride, increased tourism, economic impact, youth sports, and many other aspects, and will reverberate throughout Nashville for years to come; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that the Metropolitan Council recognize and applaud the Nashville Predators Team for their extraordinary achievements both on and off the ice this season while setting a positive example for the youth of Nashville and Davidson County.


Section 1. That the Metropolitan Council, on behalf of the citizens of Nashville, thanks the Nashville Predators for their excellence in athleticism, teamwork, persistence, grit, and for the joy of supporting their efforts in a united community spirit. Because of their herculean achievements, we declare August 17, 2017 to be “Nashville Predators Day” in Nashville and Davidson County.

Section 2. That the Metropolitan Council Office is directed to prepare a copy of this Resolution to be presented to Head Coach Peter Laviolette and the Nashville Predators Ice Hockey Team.

Section 3. That this Resolution shall take effect from and after its adoption, the welfare of The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requiring it.

Sponsored by: Burkley Allen, Jim Shulman, Angie Henderson, Karen Johnson, Brett Withers, Jeff Syracuse, Mike Freeman, Fabian Bedne, Nick Leonardo, Robert Swope, Colby Sledge, Mary Carolyn Roberts, Jacobia Dowell, Mina Johnson, Sharon Hurt, Dave Rosenberg, Davette Blalock, Anthony Davis, Kathleen Murphy, Freddie O'Connell, Sheri Weiner, Bill Pridemore, Nancy VanReece, Tanaka Vercher, Russ Pulley, Larry Hagar


Referred to: Rules, Confirmations, and Public Elections Committee
Introduced: August 1, 2017
Adopted: August 1, 2017
Returned unsigned by Mayor: August 16, 2017
Effective Date: August 16, 2017

Requests for ADA accommodation should be directed to the Metropolitan Clerk at 615/862-6770.