2023 Nashville and Davidson County Participatory Budget Committee Meeting of March 18, 2023

Meeting was called to order by Chair Pastorek at 1:03 PM.

- New Committee Members were introduced:
 - Gary Schechter of District 16
 - Thomas Heine of District 17
- Motion was made and seconded to accept the Minutes of Meetings of 02/22/2023 and 03/04/23
- The topic of Meeting Minutes was discussed with regard to who will be taking the meeting minute Fabian Bedne, Quinta Martin (or her designee), or the Secretary
 - the Committee decided the Secretary would take the Meeting Minutes
 - if for some reason the Secretary is unavailable, then either Fabian Bedne or Quinta Martin (or her designee) will take the Meeting Minutes
- The chair opened the floor to discuss old business
 - At-Home Reflection
 - Virtual/WebEx Meetings
 - Discussion was had regarding the length of Virtual/WebEx meetings
 - Motion was made and seconded to limit Virtual/WebEx meetings to 1 hour
 - After further discussion regarding the purpose and goals of the Virtual/WebEx meetings, motion was made and seconded to rescind the prior motion to limit Virtual/WebEx meeting to 1 hour and leave it at the 2 hours currently scheduled
 - Attendance policy was further discussed
 - After brief discussion and refresher on what was discussed at the 03/09/2023 meeting, a Motion was made and seconded to (i) adopt the attendance policy of the 2022 Guidelines and to follow the "spirit, not the letter" of the policy; (ii) not fill vacancies after April 15; (iii) allow committee members to volunteer to represent currently unrepresented Council Districts, as well as any Council Districts that may become unrepresented if a Committee member should resign; and (iv) allow the subcommittee to make further recommendations regarding the attendance policy
- The role of the Facilitator was discussed for clarity
 - The Facilitator was hired by the City to support the process
 - The Facilitator collaborates with and supports the Chair and assists with awareness, opportunities, and resources and completing tasks
 - Quinta Martin is the Facilitator and will be assisted by Misha Maynard and other members of Quinta's team, as needed

- Discussions were had regarding the challenge of engagement
 - Some Committee members had already begun to engage within their community
 - Some Committee members expressed apprehension and not having a clear understanding of the goals and process
 - Committee members were advised that Fabian Bedne, Quinta Martin, and Chair Pastorek will be available to assist with engagement at community meetings
- The following Council Districts were unrepresented; committee members volunteered to represent each Council District:

District	
No.	Committee Member
1	David
7	Jeff Brousal
10	Antuan Fox
14	Matt Ingram
18	Nick Cavin
22	Jason Sparks
24	Nick Cavin
28	Veronica Zavaleta / Gary Schechter
34	Elizabeth Miller

- Using the 2022 Guidelines, the following Subcommittees were identified:
 - Rules and Regulations (pp. 3-11)
 - Community Engagement
 - Eligibility and Selection (pp. 12 to top of 16)
 - Proposal Development (pp. 16-19)
 - Voting (pp. 20-21)
- The Committee was advised that the April 30, 2023 deadline it had set for adoption of its revised Guidelines was a good goal, but the Committee can take more time, if needed
 - Once the Committee finalizes its Guidelines, they will be submitted to Finance and Legal for review and approval
- Committee members were asked to self-select a subcommittee first and second choice and whether an individual wishes to be a chair for the particular subcommittee and email those choices to Fabian Bedne by 03/22/2023 so a definitive list could be created, and subcommittees can breakout at the 03/23/2023 meeting to discuss and make changes to the 2022 Guidelines

- Next meeting
 - Judith Tackett will address the Committee regarding outreach to unhoused individuals in Davidson County
 - Discuss core values and mission statement
 - $\circ\,$ Review and revise 2022 Guidelines for discussion and adoption at 04/01/2023 meeting
- A motion was made and seconded to adjourn the meeting at 2:56 PM.