2023 Nashville and Davidson County Participatory Budget Committee Virtual/WebEx Meeting of March 23, 2023

Meeting was called to order by Chair Pastorek at 6:00 PM.

- Committee was advised that Committee Member Nicole Williams resigned and recommended Ben Passino, who was endorsed by his District 20 Council Member
- The chair opened the floor to discuss old business
 - At-Home Reflection
 - The Agenda for the 04/01/2023 meeting was briefly laid out:
 - Move to accept Minutes of 03/09/2023, 03/18/2023, and 03/23/2023 meetings
 - Break into Subcommittees to further review and revise the 2022 Guidelines
 - Review notes from Subcommittees and vote to accept Subcommittee recommendations
- Guest Speaker Judith Tackett was introduced and discussed
 - o Setting goals to think about and identify where homeless naturally gather and reach out in those places (*ie.*, service providers, such as Room at the Inn, The Contributor)
 - o Keeping in mind that capital improvements are not at the forefront of people in poverty; their concerns will be housing, education, safety, jobs, transportation
 - Street outreach
 - Some will have access to smart phones, but not all think about how you will engage those individuals
 - Collaborate to facilitate question and answer opportunities at service providers, such as Room at the Inn
 - Eligibility Committee will have to look at what addresses can be used how narrow or broad do you want to define
 - This will also play into voting and establishing an address for recording the votes
- Fabian Bedne discussed and gave an overview regarding the Social Vulnerability Index, how it is determined, and it's implications in this process
 - There are 16 variables to come up with the co-efficients
 - o SVI is based on data, not political lines
 - Lower SVI = lower income
 - The more vulnerable an area is, the more resources are directed to that area and the more likely a project will be adopted or approved
 - A District can have multiple levels of vulnerability, based on that District's boundaries

• The following Subcommittees were developed based on self-selection and broke off into individual groups to discuss revisions to the 2022 Guidelines:

Roles and Responsibilities

- Carol Lecian
- Elizabeth Miller
- Rhonda Kinslow
- Gary Schechter

Community Engagement

- Whitney Pastorek Chair
- Jeff Brousal
- Antuan Foxx
- Jacob Kupin
- Veronica Zavaleta

Eligibility and Selection

- Michael Jones Chair
- Ramona Gholston
- Dena Swoner
- Kinyata McGee-Swope

Proposal Development

- Tyler Brasher
- Nick Cavin
- Benjamin Passino
- Ian Prunty
- Thomas Heine

Voting

- Lauren Balmer
- Lindsay Gilmore
- Fathiyah Shepard-Suso
- Sharon Barker
- Jason Sparks
- As the Subcommittees finished their review, each left the meeting. The Subcommittee for Roles and Responsibilities adjourned at 8:02 PM.