As of October 6, 2020, you will find Metro Council matters at a new legislative information site.

Skip to Content

Metropolitan Council

Council Chambers

The Metropolitan Council is the legislative authority of the Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County, a city-county consolidated government created on April 1, 1963.

The Council is a 40-member body of elected representatives of which 35 are elected by district and 5 are elected at-large, or county-wide. The presiding officer is the Vice Mayor, who is elected at-large by the citizens of Nashville and Davidson County. Members are elected to serve a term of four years.

By Charter the regular meetings of the Council are held on the first and third Tuesdays of every month. Meetings convene at 6:30 p.m. The meetings are held in the David Scobey Council Chamber in the Historic Metro Courthouse, One Public Square in downtown Nashville. All meetings are open to the public.

Metro Council Broadcasts

The Metropolitan Council convenes for regular meetings the first and third Tuesdays of every month at 6:30 p.m. Meetings are broadcast live at Metro Nashville Network's Government TV on Nashville's Comcast Channel 3 and AT&T's U-verse 99 and are streamed live at the Metro Nashville Network's livestream site. Meetings are scheduled for repeat on Metro Nashville Network (MNN) through the course of the following weeks, check program listing for times.

Contact Us

Metropolitan Council Office
Metro Historic Courthouse
One Public Square, Suite 204
P. O. Box 196300
Nashville, TN 37219-630


Council District Lookup

Enter your address

Staff Directory

Cal, Doris
Administrative and Planning Assistant
Cooper, Jon
Executive Director
Fuqua, Barbara
Administrative Services & Receptionist
Godin, Danielle
Legislative Assistant
Hayes-Shacklett, Roseanne
Chief of Staff
Hurd, Slade
Business Analyst
Kyle, Austin
Finance Officer
Neff-Caulder, Maria
Finance Manager
Waller, Elease
Vice-Mayor Executive Assistant
Washington III, Theodore
Constituent Service Coordinator
Wilkinson, Matthew
Planning & Codes Liaison
Zeitlin, Hannah
Assistant Legal Counsel